January 17, 2020 9:30 AM
Kentucky Board of Education New Member Orientation and Working Session
I. Call to Order
II. Roll Call
III. Welcome and Remarks - KBE Chair David Karem and Interim Commissioner Kevin C. Brown
IV. Getting Started with Board Technology - KDE Technology Team Leads Logan Bales and Andy Liaupsin
V. Kentucky School Boards Association (KSBA) Portal Training - (KSBA) Director of Policy and eMeeting Services Katrina Kinman
VI. Discussion on Board Meetings, Working with KDE Staff, Working with the Board and Current Issues - KBE Chair David Karem and Interim Commissioner Kevin C. Brown
VII. Executive Branch Code of Ethics Training - KY Executive Branch Ethics Commission Executive Director Katie Gabhart
VIII. Discussion on the Legal Perspective of Being a State Board Member, Administrative Regulations, Board Procedures and Board Policy Manual - KDE Assistant General Counsel Ashley Lant and KBE Executive Director Jennifer Fraker
IX. Nomination and Election of Kentucky Board of Education Vice Chair - KBE Chair David Karem (Action Item)
X. Discussion and Approval of Board Committee Structure - KBE Chair David Karem (Action Item)
XI. Election of Committee Chairs and Committee Members - KBE Chair David Karem (Action Item)
XII. Establish RFP Evaluation Team for Responses to Commissioner Search Firm RFP, Duties and Authority of the Team, Election of Members and Meeting Dates - KBE Chair David Karem (Action Item)
XIII. Discussion and Instruction that KDE Administer a Public Survey to Solicit Desired Qualities of the Next Commissioner - KDE Associate Commissioner Robin Kinney (Action Item)
XIV. LUNCH - 12:30 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. (Lunch provided for KBE Members and Leadership Team Members Only) (No business to be conducted.)
XV. Summary of Work by Each KDE Office - KDE Associate Commissioners and KDE Chief Performance Officer
XV.A. Office of Assessment and Accountability - KDE Associate Commissioner Rhonda Sims
XV.B. Office of Career and Technical Education and Student Transition, and Area Technology Centers - KDE Associate Commissioner David Horseman
XV.C. Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness - KDE Associate Commissioner Rob Akers
XV.D. Office of Education Technology - KDE Associate Commissioner David Couch
XV.E. Office of Finance and Operations - KDE Associate Commissioner Robin Kinney
XV.F. Office of Special Education and Early Learning, and Kentucky School for the Blind and Kentucky School for the Deaf - KDE Associate Commissioner Gretta Hylton
XV.G. Office of Teaching and Learning - KDE Associate Commissioner Amanda Ellis
XV.H. Office of Continuous Improvement and Support - KDE Associate Commissioner Kelly Foster
XV.I. Strategic Planning and Research, KDE Chief Performance Officer Karen Dodd
XVI. Discussion and Approval of the KBE/KDE Legislative Agenda and 2020 Budget Request - KDE Interim Director of Government Relations Tracy Goff Herman, KDE Associate Commissioner Robin Kinney and KDE Division Director Charles Harman (Action Item)
XVII. Adjournment