April 12, 2023 9:00 AM
Kentucky Board of Education Video Teleconference Regular Meeting
I. Call to Order
II. Roll Call
III. Good News
IV. Board Member Sharing
V. Internal Board Business
V.A. KBE Learning Agenda- KBE Chair Lu S. Young, Ed.D.
VI. Report from the President of the Council on Postsecondary Education - Aaron Thompson, Ph.D.
VII. Report from the Secretary of the Education and Labor Cabinet - Secretary Jamie Link
VIII. Report from the Commissioner of Education - Jason E. Glass, Ed.D.
IX. Hearing Officer's Report - KDE General Counsel Todd G. Allen
IX.A. Statement of Consideration for 704 KAR 8:060, Kentucky Academic Standards for Social Studies - KDE Deputy Commissioner Thomas Woods-Tucker and KDE Chief Academic Officer Micki Ray
X. Review Items
X.A. Kentucky United We Learn Council and CGSA Grant Update - KDE Chief Performance Officer Karen Dodd, KDE Division Director David Cook and KUWL Council Accelerating Innovation Committee Co-Chairs Sarah Hatton and Kathy Stovall, Ed.D.
X.B. Vibrant Student Experiences in Literacy- KDE Chief Academic Officer Micki Ray, KDE Director of Early Literacy Christie Biggerstaff, KDE Assistant Director of Early Literacy and Former Corbin Independent Schools Chief Academic Officer Ashley Hill, Wayne County Schools Chief Academic Officer Brian Dishman, and Hancock County Schools Assistant Superintendent for Instruction and Assessment Robin Poynter
XI. Public Comment Session - This segment is limited to 10 speakers at a maximum of 3 minutes each. If there are multiple members of an organization, we encourage the membership of that group to select one person to comment.
XII. Presentation of the 2023 Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education - Jason E. Glass, Ed.D. and KBE Chair Lu S. Young, Ed.D.
XIII. Adjournment