Minutes Jefferson County Board of Education Policy Committee VanHoose Education Center

February 4, 2020

BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Linda Duncan Chris Kolb

OTHER BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Diane Porter Corrie Shull
Joe Marshall James Craig

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Nicole Aghaaliandastjerdi Amy Dennes Tyson Gorman (General Counsel) Iris Wilbur Glick Mark Jones Marty Pollio

Warren Shelton

STAFF TO THE COMMITTEE PRESENT

Glenn Baete Cherri Beckhart Jonathan Lowe Renee Murphy

Minerva Viola

OTHERS PRESENT

Sonja DeVries – speaker Chanelle Helm– speaker

There were other community members present.

Ms. Duncan called the meeting to order at 5: 35p.m.

The purpose of this meeting was approval of the minutes of the January 21, 2020 meeting and discussion of proposed policy 02.31 School Safety Officers (SSOs) and the Standard Operating Procedures (SPO) Manual for SSOs.

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Shelton made a motion to accept the minutes of the January 21, 2020 meeting as written. Ms. Dennes seconded. The vote was unanimous to approve.

Speakers Requesting to Address the Committee

Ms. DeVries and Ms. Helm both spoke in opposition of armed SSOs in schools.

Discussion of Proposed Board Policy for Report to the Full Board

Dr. Pollio suggested that we use this meeting to make final revision to Policy 02.31 in order to have adequate time to process and present a final version to the Board in March.

Policy 02.31 School Safety Officers

Changes and revisions were reviewed. Consensus was to defer for further revision and final review.

Discussion of Proposed Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) Manual

Draft sections were reviewed: Equipment, Weapons, and Data. Consensus was to defer for revision and further review.

New Business

There was no new business.

Ms. Wilbur Glick made a motion to adjourn. Ms. Dennes seconded. The vote was unanimous to adjourn at 6:20 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020.