# Minutes Jefferson County Board of Education Policy Committee VanHoose Education Center January 21, 2020

#### **BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Linda Duncan	Chris Kolb

## **OTHER BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

James Craig	Corrie Shull
Joe Marshall	Diane Porter

### **OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**

Nicole Aghaaliandastjerdi		
Amy Dennes	Tyson Gorman (Counsel)	
Mark Jones	Brent McKim	
Marty Pollio	Warren Shelton	

## **BY PHONE**

Iris Wilbur Glick Rob Mattheu Tom O'Brien

#### STAFF TO THE COMMITTEE PRESENT

Glenn Baete	Minerva Virola
Jonathan Lowe	Cherri Beckhart

### **OTHERS PRESENT**

Mike Beard – speaker Chris Harmer – speaker There were other community members present.

Ms. Duncan called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

The purpose of this meeting was approval of the minutes of the January 13, 2020 meeting and discussion of proposed policy 02.31 School Safety Officers (SSOs) and the Standard Operating Procedures (SPO) Manual for SSOs.

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Dr. Kolb made a motion to accept the minutes of the January 13, 2020 meeting as written. Mr. Shelton seconded. The vote was unanimous to approve.

## **Speakers Requesting to Address the Committee**

Chris Harmer spoke in opposition of armed SSOs in schools. Mike Beard spoke in favor of armed SSOs in schools.

# Discussion of Proposed Board Policy for Report to the Full Board

Dr. Pollio reviewed the timeline for policy and SOP adoption with a tentative date to present to the Board in February or March.

# Policy 02.31 School Safety Officers

Changes and revisions were reviewed. There was discussion for further revisions. Consensus was to defer for further revision and review.

# Discussion of Proposed Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) Manual

Draft sections were reviewed: Hiring, Training, and Arrests. Consensus was to defer for revision and further review. There were three other SOP draft sections that were on the agenda to review and they will be addressed in upcoming meetings.

# New Business

There was no new business.

Dr. Pollio made a motion to adjourn. Ms. Aghaaliandastjerdi seconded. The vote was unanimous to adjourn at 7:05 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, Feb 4, 2020.