

# JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

## Minutes of Special Meeting of August 22, 2019

**Special Meeting** of the Jefferson County Board of Education held at VanHoose Education Center, Louisville, Kentucky, on Thursday, August 22, 2019.

#### **BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Chairwoman Diane Porter Vice-Chair Chris Kolb
Mr. Chris Brady Mr. James Craig
Mrs. Linda Duncan Mr. Corrie Shull

#### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Kevin Brown, General Counsel

#### I. Call to Order

Chair Porter called the August 22, 2019, Special Meeting of the Board of Education to order at 6:01 p.m. The purpose of this meeting included discussions that may lead to the appointment of an individual to the vacancy in Board Member District 4 pursuant to KRS 160.190 and Board Policy 01.3.

#### **II. Overview of Appointment Process and Timeline**

### III. Enter into Closed Executive Session Pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(f).

The Board entered closed session at 6:02 p.m.

**Order #2019-852 - Motion Passed:** A motion that the Board of Education conduct a closed session, as permitted by KRS 61.810(1)(f) of the Open Meetings Act, for the purpose of discussions that may lead to the appointment of an individual to the vacancy in Board Member District 4 passed with a motion by Mrs. Linda Duncan and a second by Mr. James Craig.

Mr. Chris Brady

Mr. James Craig

Mrs. Linda Duncan

Yes

Dr. Christopher Kolb

Ms. Diane Porter

Mr. Corrie Shull

Yes

#### IV. Adjourn from Executive Session

The Board returned to open session at 7:29 p.m.

**Order #2019-853 - Motion Passed:** A motion to adjourn from closed session and return to open session passed with a motion by Mr. James Craig and a second by Mr. Corrie Shull.

Mr. Chris Brady	Yes
Mr. James Craig	Yes
Mrs. Linda Duncan	Yes
Dr. Christopher Kolb	Yes
Ms. Diane Porter	Yes
Mr. Corrie Shull	Yes

# V. Pursuant to KRS 160.190 and Board Policy 01.3, Consideration of a Motion to Appoint an Individual to Fill the Vacancy in Board Member District 4

The Board appointed Joseph L. Marshall to the District 4 seat.

**Order #2019-854 - Motion Passed:** A motion, pursuant to KRS 160.190 and Board Policy 01.3, for the appointment of Joseph L. Marshall to fill the vacancy in Board Member District 4 passed with a motion by Mr. Corrie Shull and a second by Mrs. Linda Duncan.

Mr. Chris Brady	Yes
Mr. James Craig	Yes
Mrs. Linda Duncan	Yes
Dr. Christopher Kolb	Yes
Ms. Diane Porter	Yes
Mr. Corrie Shull	Yes

## VI. Discussion of Timeline for Onboarding and Swearing-in of New Board Member

Mr. Marshall will be sworn in as the District 4 Board representative during the August 27 regular Board meeting.

## VII. Adjournment

The special meeting adjourned at 7:42 p.m.

**Order #2019-855 - Motion Passed:** A motion to adjourn the August 22 special meeting of the Board of Education passed with a motion by Mr. James Craig and a second by Mr. Chris Brady.

Mr. Chris Brady	Yes
Mr. James Craig	Yes
Mrs. Linda Duncan	Yes
Dr. Christopher Kolb	Yes
Ms. Diane Porter	Yes
Mr. Corrie Shull	Yes

Diane Porter Dr. Martin A. Pollio

Chairwoman Superintendent/Secretary

THESE ACTIONS, ALONG WITH THE AGENDA ITEMS, MAKE UP THE OFFICIAL MINUTES, WHICH ARE ON FILE IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY