Minutes

Jefferson County Board of Education Policy Committee VanHoose Education Center July 22, 2019

BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Chair, Linda Duncan Vice Chair, Chris Kolb

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Kevin Brown Warren Shelton Brent McKim Marty Pollio

Nicole Aghaaliandastjerdi

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS CONFERENCING IN

Tom O'Brien

STAFF TO THE COMMITTEE PRESENT

Jonathan Lowe Cherri Beckhart

OTHERS PRESENT

Jimmy Adams Amy Dennes Lisa Revel Eva Stone

Ms. Duncan called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. Ms. Duncan introduced new Committee Member, Nicole Aghaaliandastjerdi.

The purpose of this meeting was approval of the minutes of the June 24, 2019 meeting and a discussion of proposed new policies and amendments to policies.

Approval of Minutes

Mr. Shelton made a motion to accept the minutes of the June 24, 2019 meeting as written. Dr. Pollio seconded it. The vote was unanimous to approve.

Discussion of Proposed Amendments to Board Policies for Report to the Full Board

Policy 03.1324 – Extended Disability Leave (Certified)

Consensus was to submit to the Board as written for first reading.

Policy 03.2234 – Extended Disability Leave (Classified)

Consensus was to submit to the Board as written for first reading.

Policy 09.2241 – Student Medication

After discussion regarding KSBA and JCPS alignment, consensus was to submit to the Board as revised for first reading.

Policy 09.4341 – Alternative Education

After discussion, the committee requested review and clarification of alignment with current JCPS options. Dr. Pollio recommended resubmitting this policy at the August 19, 2019 Policy Committee meeting.

Policy 09.33 – Fund-Raising Activities

Consensus was to submit to the Board as written for first reading.

Policy 10.5 – Visitors to Schools

Consensus was to submit to the Board as written for first reading.

New Business

There was no new business.

Dr. Kolb made a motion to adjourn. Mr. Shelton seconded. The vote was unanimous to adjourn at 6:15 p.m.

The next meeting is scheduled for 5:30 p.m. on August 19, 2019.