

JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Minutes of New Board Member Orientation on December 18, 2018

Special Meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education held at VanHoose Education Center, Louisville, Kentucky, on Tuesday, December 18, 2018, at 9 a.m.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: OTHERS PRESENT:

Chairwoman Diane Porter Superintendent Martin A. Pollio, Ed.D.

Vice-Chair Lisa Willner Mr. James Craig, Board Member-Elect, District 3
Dr. Christopher Kolb Mr. Corrie Shull, Board Member-Elect, District 6

Welcome, Introductions, Sharing

Chair Porter and Dr. Pollio welcomed newly elected Board members.

Working as a Team of Eight

Chair Porter and Dr. Pollio discussed relationships between the board and superintendent; communications – internal/external; norms and expectations; processes and procedures; and board meetings.

District Leadership/Organization of District

Dr. Pollio and the following Cabinet members presented high-level organizational charts for each division and provided a description of responsibilities and strategic focus.

Amy Dennes, Chief of Staff
Kevin Brown, General Counsel
Devon Horton, Chief of Schools
Carmen Coleman, Chief Academic Officer
Renee Murphy, Chief Communications
Jimmy Adams, Chief of Human Resources

Mike Raisor, Chief Operations Officer

Cordelia Hardin, Chief Financial Officer

Kermit Belcher, Chief Information Officer

Dena Dossett, Chief of Accountability,

Research & Systems Improvement

Roles and Responsibilities of Board Members

Mr. Brown made a presentation and facilitated a discussion concerning school board governance. The meeting adjourned by consensus.

Diane Porter	Dr. Martin A. Pollio	
Chairwoman	Superintendent/Secretary	