

JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

Minutes of Special Meeting of December 10, 2016

SPECIAL meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education held at VanHoose Education Center, Louisville, Kentucky, on Saturday, December 10, 2016, at 9 a.m.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT:

Vice-Chair Diane Porter Mr. Chris Brady Mrs. Stephanie Horne Dr. Lisa Willner

OTHERS PRESENT:

Superintendent Donna M. Hargens, Ed.D. Francis J. Mellen, Jr., Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP Benjamin Gies, Board Member-Elect, District 4 Dr. Chris Kolb, Board Member-Elect, District 2

SPECIAL MEETING: New Board Member Orientation

9:00 a.m. Governance of JCPS

Frank Mellen reviewed relevant Kentucky statues and local policies.

10:30 a.m. Budget

Chief Business Officer Tom Hudson and Chief Financial Officer Cordelia Hardin reviewed the process for developing the draft budget. Bill Carroll with Strothman & Company reviewed the CAFR. Jim Tenzca from Dean Dorton, PLLC, reviewed the internal audit function. Chief of Data Management, Planning, and Programing Dr. Dena Dossett; John Collopy, director of Financial Planning and Management; Eddie Muns, director of Accounting; and Dr. Bo Yan, program evaluation specialist; were there to answer questions. Dr. Marco Muñoz, director of Priority Schools, and Jonathan Lowe, director of Strategy were also at the orientation.

Chairperson	Dr. Donna Hargens, Superintendent/Secretary