ESTILL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION RECORD OF BOARD PROCEEDINGS (MINUTES)

Special Called Board Meeting October 08, 2024, 6:00 PM Estill County Board of Education Boardroom 253 Main Street Irvine, Kentucky 40336

Present Board Members:

Ms. Donna Isfort

Ms. Carrie Smallwood

Ms. Shiela Samples

Ms. Tammy Hardy

Mr. Joseph Crawford

I. Call to Order

The board meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm by the board chairperson, Ms. Donna Isfort.

A. Welcome/Pledge

Chairperson Ms. Donna Isfort welcomed everyone to the meeting and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

B. Reminder to Sign In

C. Presentations By Architect Firms

Three architectural firms presented to the board for fifteen minutes about how and what they could bring to building a new middle school. The board had six questions for each group.

1. How can you ensure the design is correct the first time so they don't have any unseen cost to the district? What are your plans if something does happen?

2. What is something unique that your firm can offer that others might not?

3. How can you get this project on time and under budget?

4. How can you design a space that is useful not only for today but also for the future?

5. How do you plan to involve the Board, Staff, and Community in designing a new Middle school?

6. What plans do you have for an outdoor space?

1. Clotfelter-Samokar

Tony Thomas, Partner and Vice President, Joey Clark, Senior Interior Designer, and Benjamin Boggs, Landscape Architect, presented their firm to the board.

2. Rosstarant

Silke Becker, Principal. Jonathan Ruiz, Project Manager; and Michael Mays Associate & Senior Civil Engineer

3. DECCO

Derek Phillips, President, Jessica Phillips, Vice President and Wayne Roberts, Director of K-12 Accounts

II. Adjourn

Order #15192 - Motion Passed: Adjourned Board Meeting at 8:06 PM passed with a motion by

Ms. Shiela Samples and a second by Ms. Carrie Smallwood.

5 Yeas - 0 Nays

Ms. Donna Isfort	Yes
Ms. Carrie Smallwood	Yes
Ms. Shiela Samples	Yes
Ms. Tammy Hardy	Yes
Mr. Joseph Crawford	Yes

Charlie Brock, Secretary

Donna Isfort, Chairperson