## **Board of Education Special Meeting**

January 06, 2022 7:00 PM
Walton-Verona Early Childhood Center
ECC Commons
18 School Road
Walton, KY 41094

#### Attendance Taken at 7:00 PM:

# **Present Board Members:**

Mr. Kyle Art

Ms. Megan Jones

Ms. Heather Stewart

Ms. Stacey Thornberry

Mr. David Turner

The following people were in attendance: Dr. Matt Baker, Jason Reis, Carrie Ryan, Ed Seibold and Adam Croweak

- I. Routine Business
- I.A. Call to Order
- I.B. Pledge of Allegiance
- I.C. Roll Call
- I.D. Approval of the Agenda

#### II. Informational Items

#### II.A. Other

Dr. Baker discussed the early dismissal today due to weather. He also discussed the increase in ACT scores. Mr. Kyle Art asked about NTI days and the differences at each school. He also asked about remote learning to students who do not currently have internet access.

#### **II.B.** Audience of Citizens

Ed Seibold discussed masks in schools.

# **III. Recommended Board Motions**

III.A. Approval of Minutes - December 16, 2021

Order #22-1414 - Motion Passed: Approval of Minutes - December 16, 2021 passed with a motion by Mr. Kyle Art and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry. 5 Yeas - 0 Nays.

### III.B. Approval of parameters to determine masking requirements

Dr. Baker and the board members discussed many things, including a metric that would require masks when student attendance and staff attendance drops below 90%. There was also discussion of using NTI days to help when there are peaks of illness in our schools. The board members ultimately felt that the decision to mask or not would be up to Dr. Baker.

**Order #22-1415 - Motion Passed:** Approval of parameters to determine masking requirements passed with a motion by Ms. Heather Stewart and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry. **5 Yeas - 0 Nays.** 

### III.C. Motion to elect Board Chair for 2022

**Order #22-1416 - Motion Failed:** Motion to elect Heather Stewart as Board Chair for 2022. failed with a motion by Mr. David Turner and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry.

# 2 Yeas - 3 Nays.

Mr. Kyle Art	No
Ms. Megan Jones	No
Ms. Heather Stewart	Yes
Ms. Stacey Thornberry	No
Mr. David Turner	Yes

**Order #22-1417 - Motion Passed:** Motion to elect Megan Jones as Board Chair for 2022 passed with a motion by Mr. David Turner and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry.

### 3 Yeas - 2 Nays.

Mr. Kyle Art	Yes	
Ms. Megan Jones	Yes	
Ms. Heather Stewart	No	
Ms. Stacey Thornberry	Yes	
Mr. David Turner	No	

# III.D. Motion to elect Board Vice-Chair for 2022

**Order #22-1418 - Motion Passed:** Motion to elect Kyle Art as Board Vice-Chair for 2022 passed with a motion by Ms. Stacey Thornberry and a second by Ms. Megan Jones.

# 3 Yeas - 2 Nays.

Mr. Kyle Art	Yes	
Ms. Megan Jones	Yes	
Ms. Heather Stewart	No	
Ms. Stacey Thornberry	Yes	
Mr. David Turner	No	

### III.E. Motion to elect Board Secretary for 2022

**Order #22-1419 - Motion Passed:** Motion to elect Dr. Matt Baker as Board Secretary for 2022 passed with a motion by Mr. Kyle Art and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry.

## 4 Yeas - 1 Nays.

Mr. Kyle Art	Yes	
Ms. Megan Jones	Yes	
Ms. Heather Stewart	Yes	
Ms. Stacey Thornberry	Yes	
Mr. David Turner	No	

#### III.F. Motion to elect Board Treasurer for 2022

Order #22-1420 - Motion Passed: Motion to elect Kevin Ryan as Board Treasurer for 2022 passed with a motion by Ms. Stacey Thornberry and a second by Mr. Kyle Art. 5 Yeas - 0 Nays.

### III.G. Motion to elect Board Attorney (Law Firm) for 2022

**Order #22-1421 - Motion Passed:** Motion to elect Claire Parsons as Board Attorney (Law Firm - Adams Law) for 2022 passed with a motion by Mr. Kyle Art and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry.

#### 3 Yeas - 2 Nays.

Yes
Yes
No
Yes
No

# III.H. Motion to approve Board Meeting dates for 2022

**Order #22-1422 - Motion Passed:** Motion to approve Board Meeting dates for 2022 passed with a motion by Mr. David Turner and a second by Ms. Stacey Thornberry. **5 Yeas - 0 Nays.** 

# III.I. Adjournment

Order #22-1423 - Motion Passed: Approval to adjourn the meeting at 8:07 PM passed with a motion by Ms. Heather Stewart and a second by Mr. Kyle Art. 5 Yeas - 0 Nays.

Chairperson	 
Secretary	 