RECORD OF BOARD PROCEEDINGS (MINUTES)

Ft. Mitchell, KY

The BEECHWOOD Board of Education met in the Beechwood Cafeteria at 6:00 PM, on June 10, 2024, with the following members present:

Attendance Taken at 6:00 PM:

Present Board Members:

Mrs. Jeanne Berger

Mrs. Melanie Stricker

Mrs. Norine Sullivan

Mrs. Amy Sleet

I. Call to Order

The mission of Beechwood Independent School District is to provide innovative education grounded in tradition. Our educational vision is to inspire students to embrace responsibility, productivity and compassion of a global community. Our vision is communicated to students, faculty, and our community by various media from the printed word to the internet and is exemplified by our district slogan: Innovative education grounded in tradition.

I.A. Call to Order / Roll Call

I.B. Staff Members Present

Dr. Mike Stacy, Superintendent

Mr. Alan Yanke, High School Principal

Mrs. Jana Bromley, Asst High School Principal

Mrs. Alicia Wittmer, Assistant Elementary Principal

Dr. Sarah Schobel, Dir of Curriculum

Mr. Justin Kaiser, Dir of Operations

Mr. Tim Lillard, Technology Director

Mrs. Stephanie Layton, Business and University Liaison

Mrs. Kristi Ward. Finance Director

Mrs. Lori Reed, Board Secretary

I.C. Recognition of Guests

I.C.1. Odyssey of the Mind World Finalist Teams

<u>Division 2 / Problem 3 Team, Placed 9th at World Finals:</u>

Jonah Fait Olivia Ginter
Carter Mulanda Clayton Waltz
Kameron Osborn Abe Wessel

*The only Kentucky team to place in the top 10. Competed against teams from all over the country and world.

<u>Division 2/ Problem 1 Team, Placed 11th at World Finals:</u>

Connor Hall Max Macke
Alyssa Day Will Grote
Nolan Ford Noah Day

*Also competed against teams from all over the world!

I.C.2. Girls and Boys Track and Field State Championship teams

Coach Dave Meyers was selected NKTFCA Boys Coach of the Year!

Coaches: Dave Meyers, Tom Arnold, Matt Hazzard

Girls Team:Boys Team:Maddy BrauchNick AlexanderMaryah CountsXavier CampbellCatie HazzardChris RoberdeauxCharli GerreinOliver UngerIsabel GinterPatrick Weaver

Annie Harris Samson Weldemichael

Lana Holt Robert Wilke Grace Mooney James Cusick **Ruby Fries** Luke Erdman Lily Parke Austin Flesch Nora Wilke Gabe Grinsteinner Lilv MacDonald **Brody Aylor** Julia Moore Drew Kidman Chase McDaniel Caroline Nordman Winter Wyant Nathan Pabst

I.C.3. Sadie Jones and Barb Wentz (30 years of coaching), Girls Tennis Team I.D. Public Comment

Each Person wishing to address the Board of Education must sign in. When called upon to speak the person who speaks should stand, give his/her name and group he/she represents, and then address his/her comments directly to the Board of Education Chairperson.

No public comment was made.

II. Discussion and Action Agenda

II.A. Building Substitute position

Motion Passed: Motion to approve a Building Substitute position passed with a motion

by Mrs. Amy Sleet and a second by Mr. Bradford Hood.

Mrs. Jeanne Berger Yes
Mr. Bradford Hood Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet Yes
Mrs. Melanie Stricker Absent
Ms. Norine Sullivan Absent

III. Consent Agenda

Motion Passed: Approval to adopt consent agenda passed with a motion by Mr.

Bradford Hood and a second by Mrs. Amy Sleet.

Mrs. Jeanne Berger Yes
Mr. Bradford Hood Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet Yes
Mrs. Melanie Stricker Absent
Ms. Norine Sullivan Absent

III.A. Approval of Minutes

III.A.1. May 13, 2024

III.B. Monthly Bills

III.C. Use of Facility Requests

III.C.1. Y'alls Scout 2027 Baseball Team

III.C.2. Greatest Games Association - flag football

III.C.3. Jordan McFaul Scholarship fundraiser

III.D. District Funding Assurances

III.E. Insurance Renewal recommendations

- Recommending Bluegrass Risk Management for Property, General Liability,
 Employee & Director Liability Insurance
- Recommending Synergy for Cyber insurance
- Recommending KEMI for Workers' Compensation

III.F. Payment of unused sick time to retiring staff member

Rationale:

Mary Nicole (Nikki) Benson has 151.5 unused sick days

III.G. Leave without Pay

Flora Fields - 5/17/2023

Betsy Stoeckle - 5/13 - 5/30/2024

III.H. Pay Applications #24 for Phase B

III.I. Change Order 214-05 Nurse's station sanitary sewer system

- Board approves Change Order 214-05 to The Geiler Company in the amount of \$25,174.00 to modify nurse's station sanitary sewer system
- Non-recurring cost to construction fund. Change is consistent with priorities on DFP

III.J. Perkins Consortium

IV. Information

IV.A. Superintendent's Report

Discussion:

- Dr. Stacy gave a construction update. Shingles will begin soon and the crane will be here next week to start setting the A/C units. We hope to be able to open the varsity gym and the new high school student center when school starts
- Rae Wise has been helping in our finance department due to a vacant position. We will have that position filled very soon
- The regular Board meeting is canceled for July 8th and moved to a special meeting on July 22nd
- The Board of Education and SBDM Councils' joint session will be August 26th at 6:00 pm
- In July, Cabinet will have our annual retreat and attend the KASA conference for administrators to plan and prepare for next year.

IV.A.1. Joint Session for Board/SBDM August 26, 2024

IV.A.2. Finance Report

IV.A.3. SBDM Meeting Minutes

IV.B. Personnel Report

Retirement:

Nikki Benson

Resignations:

Lindsey Hughes

Elena McBride

Aracely Norvell

Brian Volpenhein

Julie Wainscott

New Hires:

Selena Ballou - HS English

Stephanie Hager - Elementary Special Education Instructional Assistant

Ryan Parsons - HS Science

Colt Place - Strength & Conditioning Coach

Courtney Westerman - Elementary Teacher

Zach Wells - Media & Production Specialist

Connor Campbell - HS English Teacher

Non-Renewals:

Lainey Sullivan

Amy Bushelman

Angel Steffen

Provided all paperwork is in order:

Girls Golf

Jack Wooten, Head Coach

Casey Schneider, Assistant Coach

Elementary Cross Country

Brian Williams, Elementary Cross-Country Coordinator

Boys Soccer

Justin Bowen, Varsity Assistant/JV Coach

Girls Basketball

Celeste Brockett, Head Coach

Dennis Soard, Varsity Assistant Coach

Elementary Basketball

Brady Slusher, Elementary Basketball Coordinator

Girls Bowling

Michele Coloangelo, Head Coach & Assistant Coach

Summer Workers Cafe

Diane Mohney

Kellianne Welker

Technology or Custodial/Maintenance

Drew Fieger Louis Schlosser
Grace Wainscott Natalie Norris
Tyson Hergott Evan Greis
Shawn Sowder Gabriel Rowland
Hayden Fleenor Blake Fieger
Samuel Cottingim Connor Norton

V. Agenda in Official Board Minutes

Motion Passed:	Approval of making	the agenda par	t of the officia	I board minutes	passed with a
motion by Mrs. An	ny Sleet and a secon	d by Mr. Bradfo	rd Hood.		

Mrs. Jeanne Berger Yes
Mr. Bradford Hood Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet Yes
Mrs. Melanie Stricker Absent
Ms. Norine Sullivan Absent

VI. Other Business

VI.A. Board

VI.B. Staff

VI.C. Public

VII. Adjourn

Motion Passed: Motion to adjourn the meeting passed with a motion by Mrs. Amy Sleet and a second by Mr. Bradford Hood.

Mrs. Jeanne BergerYesMr. Bradford HoodYesMrs. Amy SleetYesMrs. Melanie StrickerAbsentMs. Norine SullivanAbsent

ATTEST:	APPROVED:	
Secretary	Chairmar	1

Meeting Minutes June 10, 2024