The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the State Schools Committee meeting on June 6, 2024. The committee met both virtually and in-person at the Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort KY. Members of the public were permitted to attend the meeting in person although encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The following business was conducted:

I. Call to Order

Chair Randy Poe welcomed the committee members and guests to the meeting

II. Roll Call

Chair Poe asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: Randy Poe, Sharon Robinson, Steve Trimble, Diane Woods, and Lu Young.

III. Review Items

A. KY Tech Year in Review

KDE Associate Commissioner Beth Hargis, Ed.D. and KDE Division Director Beth Engle presented the annual KY Tech Year in Review report and discussed the progress on goals with the committee.

B. CEASD Accreditation

KDE Associate Commissioner Gretta Hylton and KDE Division Director Shannon Sparkman presented the CEASD accreditation for the Kentucky School for the Deaf.

IV. Adjournment

Chair Poe thanked everyone for the updates and requested a motion to adjourn the committee. The motion was made by Steve Trimble and seconded by Lu Young. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.