The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the Awards Committee meeting on June 5, 2024. The committee met both virtually and in-person at the Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort KY. Members of the public were permitted to attend the meeting in person although encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The following business was conducted:

I. Call to Order

Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed the committee members and guests viewing the livestream to the meeting

II. Roll Call

Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Patrice McCrary, Julie Pile, Diane Woods, and Lu Young

III. 2024 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education

A. Review of Criteria for Selecting the Recipient of the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education

Chair McCrary provided an overview and brief discussion of the criteria for the Grissom Award which serves to, "honor outstanding dedication to improving student achievement for students with disabilities. Criteria for the award include: Leadership or implementation of innovative practice in curriculum, instruction or assessment that leads to improved learning, postsecondary or workforce outcomes for students with learning or behavior differences; and, District or schools demonstrating significant improvement or sustained excellence in learning or behavior outcomes for students with learning or behavior differences."

B. Review and Discussion of the Nominations for the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education

Chair McCrary then explained that committee members were asked to review the candidates prior to the meeting using a provided rubric. All members positively commented on the qualifications of candidate 13/14.

C. Approve Recommendation of Individual(s) as the Recipient of the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education

The committee determined that its top applicant was candidate 13/14. A vote was necessary to bring the recommendation before the full board for consideration of approval at its June 5 regular meeting. Based on the candidate's efforts and innovation in the area of special education, Chair

McCrary asked the committee to entertain a motion to approve candidate 13/14 as the recipient of the 2024 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams and seconded by Diane Woods. The motion passed unanimously with a roll call vote.

IV. Adjournment

Chair McCrary thanked everyone for their time and a productive meeting. Chair McCrary requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by Lu Young and seconded by Julie Pile. The motion passed unanimously with a roll call vote. The committee reconvened with the full board at 1:21 pm.