The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held day one of its regular meeting on June 5, 2024. The KBE met both virtually and in-person at the Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort KY. Members of the public were permitted to attend the meeting in person although encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The board conducted the following business:

I. Call to Order

Chair Sharon Robinson welcomed all board members and guests to the meeting. The meeting was called to order at 1:00 P.M. ET.

II. Roll Call

Chair Robinson asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Holly Bloodworth, Jamie Bowling, Patrice McCrary, Julie Pile, Randy Poe, Alissa Riley, Sharon Robinson, Lee Todd, Steve Trimble, Diane Woods, Lu Young, and Secretary Jamie Link.

III. Public Comment Session

Chair Robinson stated that the Public Comment Segment is limited to 10 speakers at a maximum of 3 minutes each. No one submitted items via the KBE email inbox, and no one was in attendance for public comment.

IV. Internal Board Business

A. Summary Minutes for April 9, 2024 KBE Regular Meeting Day 1, April 9, 2024 KBE State Schools Committee Meeting, April 9, 2024 United We Learn Committee Meeting, and April 10, 2024 KBE Regular Meeting Day 2 (Action/Discussion)

The minutes of these meetings were distributed to members in advance. Chair Robinson asked for any corrections to any of the minutes. There were no corrections. Chair Robinson asked for a motion to approve the meeting minutes. The motion was made by Holly Bloodworth and seconded by Patrice McCrary. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.

B. Assignment of Members to KBE Standing Committees- KBE Chair Sharon Robinson, Ed.D. (Action/Discussion)

Chair Robinson presented and explained her recommendation to appoint Julie Pile to the KBE Awards Committee. She called for a motion to approve the appointment. The motion was made by Steve Trimble and seconded by Diane Woods. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.

C. 2024-2025 KBE Non-Voting Student and Teacher Members (Action/Discussion)

Chair Robinson spoke about the annual item to approve new non-voting student and teacher Board members. She outlined the process as explained in 701 KAR 5:160 and explained the rationale for the recommended candidates. Chair Robinson then called for a motion to approve the selection of student candidate #11 and teacher candidate #8 to serve as the 2024-25 non-voting KBE members. The motion was made by Lee Todd and Seconded by Vice Chair Lu Young. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.

D. Membership Renewal for the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) (Action/Discussion)

The board discussed renewing their membership with the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) highlighting several benefits of membership from previous years. With several supportive comments made, Chair Robinson called for a motion to approve the renewal of NASBE membership. The motion was made by Julie Pile and seconded by Patrice McCrary. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.

V. KBE Awards Committee

The KBE took a recess to allow the Awards Committee to meet and reconvened after the committee meeting at 1:21 pm.

VI. Recipient of the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education (Action/Discussion)

After the meeting and discussion of the Awards Committee, Chair McCrary shared their recommendation for candidate 13/14 to be the recipient of the Grissom Award. Chair Robinson called the motion to approve candidate 13/14 for the Grissom Award from the committee, requiring no second. The motion was passed unanimously by a voice vote.

VII. Review Items

A. 2024 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Update- 2024 KTOY Kevin Dailey and KDE Academic Program Manager GlyptusAnn Grider Jones, Ph.D. The 2024 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Kevin Dailey presented a reflection on his sabbatical year and his project "The (im)Perfect Classroom" as a farewell to the Board before returning to the classroom in the Fall of 2024.

B. Commonwealth Education Continuum Update- KBE Member Diane Woods

Serving as Chair Robinson's proxy to the Commonwealth Education Continuum, Member Diane Woods provided an update on her participation. She detailed the goals of the group, her choice of workgroup, and provided a summary of recent activities.

C. Reflections from the 2023-2024 Student and Teacher Non-Voting KBE Members- Alissa Riley and R.J. Osborne

Non-voting teacher member Alissa Riley gave her reflection on her time serving on the Board. She thanked members for the opportunity and spoke about the importance of having an active teacher voice on the Board. Non-voting student member R.J. Osborne provided his reflection in writing as he was not able to attend the meeting.

VIII. Adjournment

Chair Robinson thanked everyone for their time and asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by Steve Trimble and seconded by Holly Bloodworth. The motion was approved unanimously with a voice vote.