

Board of Education

Brenda Crabtree, Chair Diane Meadows, Vice-Chair Kathy Merriman Lisa Mays Kimberly Hall Grant R. Chenoweth, Board Attorney

LOCAL EVALUATION APPEALS PANEL July 1, 2024 - June 30, 2025

Pursuant to *Board Policy 03.18*, any certified employee who believes that s/he was not fairly evaluated on the summative evaluation may appeal to the Evaluation Appeals Panel.

An Appeals Panel shall be established in accordance with *KRS Chapter 156* and *704 KAR 003:370*. Based on issues identified in an employee's appeal documentation, the Panel shall determine whether the employee has demonstrated that a procedural violation has occurred under the District's evaluation plan and whether the summative evaluation is supported by the evidence. The burden of proof that an employee was not fairly and/or correctly evaluated on the summative evaluation rests with the employee who appeals to the Panel.

Members of the Appeals Committee:

- Two (2) members of the panel shall be elected by and from the certified employees of the District and two (2) alternates shall also be elected by and from the certified employees, to serve in the event an elected member cannot serve.
- The Local Board shall appoint one (1) certified employee and one (1) alternate certified employee to the panel.
- The chairperson of the panel shall be the certified employee appointed by the Local Board and the alternate chairperson shall be the alternate certified employee appointed by the Local Board.
- All terms of panel members and alternates shall be for one (1) year and run from July 1 to June 30.
- The names and positions of all primary and alternate members shall be posted in each school and on file at the Central Office.
- Members may be reappointed or re-elected.
- In the event of a vacancy prior to the end of the term, a special election will be held.

Appeals Committee Members

Board Appointed- Chair Donna Rogers- Elected Member Claire Charles- Elected Member

Alternate Appeals Committee Members

Board Appointed- Alternate Chair Melissa Meade- Elected Alternate Member Cole Wills- Elected Alternate Member