The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the Awards Committee meeting on March 28, 2024. The committee met virtually. The following business was conducted:

I. Call to Order

Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed the committee members and guests viewing the livestream to the meeting.

II. Roll Call

Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: Lu Young, Patrice McCrary, and JoAnn Adams.

III. David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy

A. Review of Criteria for Selecting the Recipient of the David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy

Chair McCrary gave a brief description of the David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy, as follows: "The award, which is named for former Kentucky Board of Education member David Karem, will recognize a Kentucky policymaker, education leader or citizen who has made notable state-level contributions to the improvement of Kentucky's public education system. Criteria for the award include: demonstrated leadership in policy development, passage or implementation resulting in increased educational opportunities for students; and/or improved educational, postsecondary or workforce outcomes for students; or increased capacity of teachers or school staff to better meet the academic, social or emotional needs of Kentucky students."

B. Review and Discussion of Nominations for the David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy

Chair McCrary then explained that committee members were asked to review the candidates prior to the meeting using a provided rubric. Both Chair McCrary and JoAnn Adams commented that they were most impressed with candidate two.

C. Approve Recommendation of Individual(s) as the Recipient of the David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy

The committee determined that its top applicant was candidate two. A vote was necessary to bring the recommendation before the full board for consideration of approval at its March 9 regular meeting. Based on the candidate's efforts and

contributions in the area of education policy, Chair McCrary asked the committee to entertain a motion to approve candidate two as the recipient of the 2024 David Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams and seconded by Chair McCrary. The motion passed unanimously with a roll call vote.

IV. Adjournment

Chair McCrary thanked everyone for their time and a productive meeting. Chair McCrary requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by Lu Young and seconded by JoAnn Adams. The motion passed unanimously with a roll call vote.