The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held a special meeting regarding the selection of the next commissioner of education on March 21, 2024. The KBE met virtually. The following business was conducted:

I. Call to Order

Chair Sharon Robinson welcomed the board members and guests to the meeting. The meeting was called to order at 1:00 P.M. ET.

II. Roll Call

Chair Robinson asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Holly Bloodworth, Patrice McCrary, Julie Pile, Randy Poe, Sharon Porter Robinson, Lee Todd, Steve Trimble, Diane Woods. Lu Young, Alissa Riley, Jamie Link, and Aaron Thompson.

III. Review and Approval of Contract Appointing the New Commissioner of Education (Action/Discussion)

Chair Robinson asked the board to entertain a motion to approve the contract appointing the new Commissioner of Education. A motion was made by Steve Trimble and seconded by Randy Poe. The motion passed unanimously with a roll call vote.

IV. Announcement of the New Commissioner of Education

On behalf of the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE), Chair Robinson congratulated the newly selected Commissioner of Education, Dr. Robbie Fletcher. Chair Robinson expressed that after thoughtful consideration of the feedback collected from numerous Kentucky stakeholders and the priorities of the KBE, a leader was sought who embodies the qualities of an ambassador/statesperson, an expert instructional leader, a strong organizational leader, and a visionary innovator. She said that the board is confident that Dr. Fletcher meets the requirements and is excited about the future of education in the commonwealth under his leadership. Dr. Fletcher currently serves as the superintendent of Lawrence County Schools, a position he has held since July 2014. Previously, he served as a part-time faculty member at Asbury University, and as a principal, assistant principal, and mathematics teacher in Martin County. Fletcher will begin his role on July 1, pending confirmation by the Kentucky state senate.

V. Adjournment

Chair Robinson thanked everyone for their time and engagement and asked for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made by Patrice McCrary and seconded by Lu Young. The motion passed unanimously with a voice vote.