The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the Awards Committee meeting on February 1, 2024. The committee met virtually. The following business was conducted:

I. Call to Order

Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed the committee members and any guests viewing the livestream to the meeting.

II. Roll Call

Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: Diana Woods, Lu Young, Patrice McCrary, and JoAnn Adams.

III. Samuel Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education Award

A. Review of Criteria for Selecting the Recipient of the Samuel Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education

Chair McCrary gave a brief description of the Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education, as follows: "Dr. Samuel Robinson was a former member of the KBE (1991-2004) who made diversity and equity in public education his life's work. Each year, the KBE grants this award to a Kentuckian or a Kentucky organization demonstrating extraordinary efforts and contributions in the area of educational diversity and equity. The criteria for this award includes, but is not limited to: successful efforts in closing socioeconomic and/or racial achievement gaps; and significantly improving student learning, student achievement, or other measure outcomes among students of color or economically disadvantaged students."

B. Review and Discussion of Nominations for the Samuel Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education

Chair McCrary then explained that committee members were asked to review the candidates prior to the meeting using a provided rubric. Chair McCrary stated that all the nominations were very strong. She then asked for each committee member to share four top candidates for consideration and discussion. A few candidates, such as 10, 9, 1, and 5 came up frequently in the discussion.

C. Approve Recommendation of Individual(s) as the Recipient of the Samuel Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education

The committee determined that its top applicant was candidate ten. A vote was necessary to bring the recommendation before the full board for consideration of approval at its February 7 regular meeting. Based on the candidate's efforts and contributions in the area of educational diversity and equity, Chair McCrary asked the committee to entertain a motion to approve candidate ten as the recipient of the 2024 Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams and seconded by Diana Woods. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.

IV. Adjournment

Chair McCrary thanked everyone for their time and a productive meeting. Chair McCrary requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by Lu Young and seconded by Diana Woods. The motion passed unanimously by roll call vote.