Kentucky Board of Education Awards Committee Meeting Minutes

November 27, 2023, 3:00 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Patrice McCrary called the meeting to order and welcomed the committee members to the meeting. Chair McCrary made opening comments with a few announcements about the requirements of the Open Meetings Act and conducting virtual meetings.

II. Roll Call

Committee Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Patrice McCrary, Diane Woods, and Lu Young.

III. Kevin C Brown Strategic Priority Award

Patrice McCrary presented to the committee an overview of the criteria of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award. This year the award is centered around a Portrait of a Learner. This is an agreed-upon set of school or district-level aspirations for what every learner will know and be able to do when they leave school. A portrait gives school leaders and teachers the framework to design instruction to feature deep and meaningful learning experiences in a way that promotes real-world competencies and job readiness. The 2023 award seeks to recognize a school or district who, through policy and practice, makes it a priority to support the successful adoption and implementation of a Portrait of a Learner.

The criterion for the award includes significant contributions and/or other efforts to support the successful adoption and implementation of a Portrait of a Learner by cocreating with communities a set of competencies for all learners, development of a performance assessment system, provision of deeper learning opportunities for all students and educators and adoption of local policies to support deeper learning instruction and assessment.

Committee Chair McCrary and the committee members reviewed the criteria for selecting the recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award, discussed the all the nominations and together the members approved one nominated individual as the Recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award

Committee Chair McCrary asked the committee to entertain a motion to approve candidate 8 as the recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award. The motion was made by Patrice McCrary; seconded by Lu Young. The motion passed by a unanimous roll call vote.

IV. Adjournment

Committee Chair McCrary asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams; seconded by Diane Woods. The motion to adjourn passed by a unanimous roll call vote.