The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the first half of the regular meeting on June 6, 2023. The KBE met both virtually and in-person at the Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard, Frankfort, KY. Members of the public were permitted to attend the meeting in person although encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The board conducted the following business:

I. Call to Order

Chair Lu Young welcomed all board members, KDE Leadership Team, and guests to the meeting. The meeting was called to order promptly at 2:30 p.m. ET.

II. Roll Call

Chair Young asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Holly Bloodworth, Patrice McCrary, Randy Poe, Sharon Porter Robinson, Lee Todd, Lu Young, Joanna Stevens, Joud Dahleh, Jamie Bowling and Jamie Link.

III. Internal Board Business

A. Summary Minutes for April 6, 2023 KBE Regular Meeting Day 1, April 7, 2023 KBE Regular Meeting Day 2, May 2023 KBE Special Committee Meetings, and May 30 KBE Awards Committee Meeting (Action/Discussion)

The minutes of these meetings were distributed to members in advance. Chair Young asked for any corrections to any of the minutes. There were no corrections. Chair Young asked for a motion to approve the meeting minutes; the motion was made by Steve Trimble; seconded by Jamie Bowling. The motion passed with a unanimous voice vote.

B. Membership Renewal for the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE)

Chair Young presented to the board her recommendation to consider renewal of membership with the National Association of State Boards of Education for the upcoming year and the board members were provided all the information on the benefits of NASBE prior to the meeting to review. Chair Young asked if there were any questions or comments related to this membership renewal and there were none. Chair Young asked for a motion to approve membership to the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE), the motion was made by Randy Poe; seconded by Holly Bloodworth. The motion passed with a unanimous voice vote.

C. Recipient of the 2023 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education (Action/Discussion)

On behalf of the KBE Award Committee, Chair Patrice McCrary presented information related to the award description, and selection process on the 2023 Grissom Award held May 30. Patrice McCrary made the motion that the nomination of candidate 8 was selected by the committee for the 2023 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education. The motion did not require a second because it came from the committee. The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

D. Discussion on Legacy, Accountability and Practice

KBE Chair Lu Young and KDE Commissioner Jason E. Glass, Ed. D facilitated this discussion. Several exchanges of comments were shared by the board members on the topic.

E. KBE Call to Action (Action/Discussion)

The draft Call to Action report was distributed to members in advance of the meeting. Chair Young asked for any questions or comments. Several discussions and comments were shared by the board members. Chair Young asked for a motion to approve the draft Call to Action with the understanding that the document will be shared with stakeholders for refinement throughout the summer in advance of our final review and approval in August. The motion was made by Patrice McCrary; seconded by Holly Bloodworth. The motion passed with a unanimous voice vote.

IV. Report from the Commissioner of Education

Jason E. Glass, Ed.D. attended the meeting and delivered his report.

V. Review Items

A. Kentucky Department of Education 2024-2026 Biennial Budget

KDE Associate Commissioner Robin Kinney and KDE Division Director Karen Wirth provided an update on the development of the KDE's 2024-2026 Biennial Budget Request.

B. Spanish Immersion Presentation

KDE Associate Commissioner Kelly Foster, Policy Advisor Matthew Courtney, KEA President Eddie Campbell, Shelby County Public Schools Superintendent Sally Sugg and Shelby County Public Schools Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum Adam Hicks presented about this special program.

C. Kentucky United We Learn Council and CGSA Grant Update KDE Chief Performance Office Karen Dobb, KDE Division Director David Cook and KUWL Council Chair Audrey Gilbert provided and update on the April 2023 KUWL Council convening.

VI. 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Update

Mandy Perez, 2023 Kentucky Teacher of the Year (KTOY) provided an update on her KTOY sabbatical.

VII. Adjournment

Chair Young expressed thanks to everyone for their time and engagement this afternoon! The board will reconvene tomorrow at 9:00 AM. Chair Young asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams; seconded by Steve Trimble. The motion passed unanimously by a voice vote.