KBE Awards Committee Meeting Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, KY 40601 Video Teleconference Meeting Minutes

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the KBE Awards Committee Meeting on May 30, 2023, via video teleconference. Members of the public were encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The committee conducted the following business:

Call to Order:

Committee Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. ET. Chair McCrary reminded members that the meeting still must comply with the requirements of the Open Meeting Act. Additionally, Chair McCrary stated that for items that require a vote, a roll call was necessary to record the vote of each board member.

Roll Call:

Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following were present: JoAnn Adams, Patrice McCrary, and Lu Young.

2022 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education

Review of Criteria for Selecting the Recipient of the Grissom Award:

Chair McCrary reminded the committee members of the criteria of the award.

The late Dr. Johnnie Grissom served at the KDE in the role of Associate Commissioner for the Office of Special Instructional Services. She provided steadfast commitment, service and leadership striving to help all students achieve high levels regardless of their disabilities. This award is given each year to a Kentuckian or a Kentucky organization to honor outstanding dedication to improving student achievement for students with disabilities.

Review and Discussion of Applications for the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education:

Chair McCrary asked each member to present their top candidates for consideration and discussion. Candidates were referred to by number and the members narrowed their top picks down to one candidate and after evaluation and discussion determined the candidate that would be brought forth for consideration of approval by the full board at its June 7, 2023, regular meeting.

Approve Recommendation of Individual(s) as the Recipient of the Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education:

Chair McCrary stated that based on the candidate's extraordinary efforts and contributions in the area of state policymakers, education leaders or citizens who have made notable, state-level contributions to the improvement of Kentucky's public

education system that candidate number eight is to be recommended as the recipient of the 2023 Grissom Award for Innovation in Special Education. The motion to approve was made by JoAnn Adams, seconded by Lu Young. Candidate number eight was approved by a unanimous roll call vote.

Adjournment: Chair McCrary asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting, the motion was made by Lu Young and seconded by JoAnn Adams. The meeting adjourned by a unanimous roll call vote.