### **RECORD OF BOARD PROCEEDINGS**

#### (MINUTES)

# Board of Education Special Meeting March 16, 2023

The Fayette County Board of Education met in Room 159 at the John D. Price Administration Building, located at 450 Park Place Lexington, KY 40511 at 5 p.m. on March 16, 2023, with the following members present:

Attendance Taken at: 5:05 p.m.

#### **Present Board Members:**

Ms. Marilyn Clark Ms. Amanda Ferguson Ms. Amy Green Mr. Tom Jones Mr. Tyler Murphy

#### **Administration Present**

Demetrus Liggins, Superintendent Houston Barber, Deputy Superintendent Meocha Williams, Assistant Superintendent of Academic Services Shelley Chatfield, Chief Legal Officer Jennifer Dyar, Chief Human Resources Officer Myron Thompson, Chief Operating Officer

## A. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Tyler Murphy called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

### **B. PURPOSE OF MEETING**

#### C. EXTEND WELCOME TO GUESTS

Mr. Tyler Murphy extended a welcome to those attending the retreat.

## **D. ROLL CALL**

# **E. BUDGET WORKSHOP**

**Discussion:** Deputy Superintendent Houston Barber opened with a brief overview of the agenda for the meeting, which featured presentations on the five-year general fund revenue projections, an update on the district's safety tax investment plan, with accompanying budget requests, the district's current financial state, five-year student enrollment projections, and proposals from several departments.

## F. PUBLIC COMMENT

Discussion: No members of the public signed up to speak.

# **G. FACILITIES WORKSHOP**

**Discussion:** Superintendent Demetrus Liggins and Chief Operating Officer Myron Thompson reviewed the proposed process board members will use to prioritize the construction and renovation projects on the 2021-25 District Facility Plan. Board members discussed which criterion to include in the decision matrix and settled on Enrollment Growth and Program Demand, Facility Age, Maintenance Projects, Portable Classrooms, Statewide Facilities Ranking, and Temporary Buildings/Innovative Learning Spaces.

# H. ADJOURNMENT:

**Motion Passed:** *A motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:54 p.m. passed with a motion by Ms. Marilyn Clark and a second by Ms. Amy Green.* 

Ms. Marilyn Clark	Yes
Ms. Amanda Ferguson	Yes
Ms. Amy Green	Yes
Mr. Tom Jones	Yes
Mr. Tyler Murphy	Yes

Tyler Murphy, Board Chair

Demetrus Liggins, Superintendent and

Secretary to the Board