#### RECORD OF BOARD PROCEEDINGS (MINUTES)

Ft. Mitchell, KY

The BEECHWOOD Board of Education met in the Beechwood Cafeteria at 6:00 PM, on December 12, 2022, with the following members present:

### Attendance Taken at 6:00 PM:

Present Board Members: Mrs. Jeanne Berger Dr. Ronald Savignano Mrs. Amy Sleet Ms. Melanie Stricker Mrs. Norine Sullivan

### I. Call to Order

The mission of Beechwood Independent School District is to provide innovative education grounded in tradition. Our educational vision is to inspire students to embrace responsibility, productivity and compassion of a global community. Our vision is communicated to students, faculty, and our community by various media from the printed word to the internet and is exemplified by our district slogan: Innovative education grounded in tradition.

#### I.A. Call to Order / Roll Call I.B. Staff Members Present

Dr. Mike Stacy, Superintendent Mr. Justin Kaiser, HS Principal Dr. Sarah Schobel, Director of Curriculum and Asst HS Principal Mr. Zach Ashley, Elementary Principal Mrs. Emily Giles, Assistant EL Principal Mr. Brian Vanover, Dir of Operations Mrs. Lauren Steltenkamp, Special Ed Director

Mr. Tim Lillard, Technology Director Mrs. Stephanie Layton, Business and University Liaison Mrs. Kristi Ward, Finance Director Mrs. Lori Reed, Board Secretary Also present: Board Attorney, Jeremy Deters Newly elected Board Member, Brad Hood

# **I.C. Recognition of Guests**

### I.C.1. Board of Education Christmas Card design winners, 8th graders, Finley Curless, Corran Blair and Violet McGlasson

#### I.C.2. Auditor's report presented by Cloyd and Associates

Financial audit was reviewed. The audit was very favorable and the auditors shared that they were pleased. The auditor shared that there is a positive fund balance despite a difficult couple of years for schools with increased spending related to the pandemic and increased costs. There was also no major finding in the audit.

#### **I.D. Public Comment**

Each Person wishing to address the Board of Education must sign in. When called upon to speak the person who speaks should stand, give his/her name and group he/she represents, and then address his/her comments directly to the Board of Education Chairperson.

### No public comment was made.

## II. Discussion and Action Agenda II.A. School Calendar for 2023-2024 SY - First Reading

### **III. Consent Agenda**

**Motion Passed:** Approval to adopt consent agenda passed with a motion by Mrs. Jeanne Berger and a second by Dr. Ronald Savignano.

Mrs. Jeanne Berger	Yes
Dr. Ronald Savignano	Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet	Yes
Ms. Melanie Stricker	Yes
Mrs. Norine Sullivan	Yes

#### **III.A. Approval of Minutes**

III.A.1. November 14, 2022

**III.B. Monthly Bills** 

**III.C. Use of Facility Requests - no requests this month** 

- III.D. Field Trip Overnight Boys Basketball
  - **III.D.1. South Oldham Invitational**
  - III.D.2. Rowan County Tournament

**III.E. Field Trip over 100 miles - High School Forensics** 

III.F. Pay Applications #6 for Phase 6B

#### **IV. Information**

IV.A. Superintendent's Report IV.A.1. Finance Report IV.A.2. Motion to enter into Closed Session per KRS 61.810(1)(c) Rationale: Litigation issue

**Motion Passed:** Motion to enter into Closed Session per KRS 61.810(1)(c) passed with a motion by Ms. Melanie Stricker and a second by Mrs. Amy Sleet.

Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes

# **IV.A.3.** Motion to Exit Closed Session

**Motion Passed:** Motion to Exit Closed Session passed with a motion by Mrs. Jeanne Berger and a second by Mrs. Amy Sleet.

Mrs. Jeanne Berger	Yes
Dr. Ronald Savignano	Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet	Yes
Ms. Melanie Stricker	Yes
Mrs. Norine Sullivan	Yes

# IV.B. Personnel Report

New Hire: John Hatfield, maintenance Resignation: Chris Mairose, maintenance

# V. Agenda in Official Board Minutes

**Motion Passed:** Approval of making the agenda part of the official board minutes passed with a motion by Mrs. Jeanne Berger and a second by Mrs. Amy Sleet.

Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
5

### **VI. Other Business**

# VI.A. Board

Discussion:

Congratulations to the football team for their 3rd consecutive State championship win.

Thank you to Norine Sullivan for her 8 years of service to the Board of Education but many more years as a valued volunteer and friend.

# VI.B. Staff

#### VI.C. Public VII. Adjourn

**Motion Passed:** Motion to adjourn the meeting passed with a motion by Mrs. Norine Sullivan and a second by Mrs. Amy Sleet.

Mrs. Jeanne Berger	Yes
Dr. Ronald Savignano	Yes
Mrs. Amy Sleet	Yes
Ms. Melanie Stricker	Yes
Mrs. Norine Sullivan	Yes

Upon adjournment of the December 12, 2022 meeting, the elected Board members Jeanne Berger, Amy Sleet, and Brad Hood were sworn in by retired Judge Lisa Bushelman

ATTEST:\_

APPROVED:

Chairman

Secretary

Meeting Minutes December 12, 2022