Kentucky Board of Education Awards Committee Meeting Minutes

December 1, 2022, 3:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Committee Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed all members and all viewing the meeting remotely at 3:30pm ET.

II. Roll Call

Committee Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following members were present: JoAnn Adams, Patrice McCrary, and Lu Young.

III. Kevin C Brown Strategic Priority Award

Patrice McCrary presented to the committee an overview of the criteria of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award. This year the award is centered around our United We Learn vision for the future of public education in Kentucky. This vision builds around three big ideas: creating a more vibrant experience for every student, encouraging innovation in our schools — especially when it comes to assessment, and creating a bold new future for Kentucky's schools through collaboration with our communities.

Committee Chair McCrary and the committee members reviewed the criteria for selecting the recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award, discussed the all the nominations and together approved one nominated individual as the Recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award.

Committee Chair McCrary asked the committee to entertain a motion to approve candidate 3 as the recipient of the Kevin C. Brown Strategic Priority Award. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams; seconded by Lu Young. The motion passed by a unanimous roll call vote.

IV. Adjournment

Committee Chair McCrary asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. The motion was made by JoAnn Adams; seconded by Lu Young. The motion to adjourn passed by a unanimous roll call vote.