RECORD OF BOARD PROCEEDINGS

(MINUTES)

Board of Education Special Meeting September 8, 2022

The Fayette County Board of Education met in Room 150 of the John D. Price Administration Building, located at 450 Park Place Lexington, KY 40511, at 6 p.m. on September 8, 2022 with the following members present:

Attendance Taken at 6:02 PM

Present Board Members:

Ms. Amy Green

Mr. Tom Jones

Ms. Christy Morris

Mr. Tyler Murphy

Ms. Stephanie Aschmann Spires

Administration Present

Demetrus Liggins, Superintendent
Houston Barber, Deputy Superintendent
Meocha Williams, Assistant Superintendent of Academic Services
Shelley Chatfield, Chief Legal Officer
Jennifer Dyar, Chief Human Resources Officer
Myron Thompson, Chief Operating Officer

A. CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Tyler Murphy called the meeting to order at 6:50 pm

B. PURPOSE OF MEETING

Pursuant to KRS Chapter 61, notice is hereby given that on September 2, 2022, the Chair of the Fayette County Board of Education called a special meeting of the Board of Education for Thursday, **September 8, 2022 at 6 p.m.** at the John D. Price Building, 450 Park Place, Room 150. The purpose of the meeting is to hear public comments regarding tax rates.

B. EXTEND WELCOME TO GUESTS

Mr. Tyler Murphy extended a welcome to guests at the meeting.

He invited Executive Director of Financial Accounting and Benefits Services to read the September 8, 2022 memorandum titled 2023 Tax Rates for School Purposes, which was written to Superintendent Demetrus Liggins.

D. ROLL CALL

E. REMARKS BY CITIZENS

During the portion of the meeting for remarks by citizens, the following individuals shared comments with the Board related to the local property tax rates for schools:

- Jessica Bowman
- Ray Davis
- Kristin Downs
- Chuck Eddy
- Jon Eppley
- Ashley Grupka
- Alfred Haase
- Jessica Hiler
- Selvi Jeyaraj
- Steven Lawrence
- Mary Lyons
- Monica Mundy
- Matthew Vied
- Aerielle Washington

I. ADJOURNMENT:

Motion Passed: A motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:40 p.m. passed with a motion by Ms. Christy Morris and a second by Ms. Stephanie Aschmann Spires.

Ms. Amy Green	Yes
Mr. Tom Jones	Yes
Ms. Christy Morris	Yes
Mr. Tyler Murphy	Yes
Ms. Stephanie Aschmann Spires	Yes

Tyler Murphy, Board Chair
Demetrus Liggins, Superintendent and
Secretary to the Board