DRAFT

Minutes
Jefferson County Board of Education
Board Policy Committee
Stewart Auditorium
May 12, 2022 5:00 p.m.

BOARD COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Chris Kolb, Chair Sarah Cole-McIntosh

OTHER COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

Kevin Brown Amy Dennes Warren Shelton

OTHER BOARD MEMBERS

Diane Porter

JCPS STAFF PRESENT

Michael Alexander Amanda Averette-Bush Dena Dossett Jonathan Lowe Chuck Truesdell Robert Moore

Call to Order

Dr. Kolb called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

Warren Shelton made a motion to accept the minutes of the last meeting as written. Amy Dennes seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to approve.

Policies for Review -Student Assignment

School Choice System Policy 09.11 and Administrative Procedures 09.11 A.P. 1,2,3,4

The committee reviewed changes that were made based on input from the May 3, 2022 Policy Committee meeting, and from community stakeholders. The consensus of committee members was to submit to the Board as revised for the first reading.

Committee asked to add a review of diversity index to the annual review.

Magnet Education Policy 08.132 and Administrative Procedures 08.132 A.P. 1,2,3

Several suggestions were made that will be brought to the next meeting for review. These included language around referencing national magnet standards, interest-based magnet language,

New Business

None

Next Meetings

The next regularly scheduled meeting will be held on Monday, June 13, 2022 at 5:00 pm in Stewart Auditorium at the VanHoose Education Center.

Adjournment

Warren Shelton made a motion to adjourn. Amy Dennes seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to adjourn at 5:42 p.m.