Board of Education Special Meeting May 11, 2022 5:30 PM Conducted via Video Teleconference with alternate physical location being Professional Development Center 631 North Green Street Henderson, KY 42420

Attendance Taken at: 5:29 PM Present Board Members:

Mr. Thomas Alves

Mr. Kirk Haynes

Mr. Wesley Smith

Mr. Michael Waller

Mrs. Tracey Williams

I. Call to Order

Mr. Michael Waller called the meeting to order.

II. Approve Minutes from Prior Meeting

Order #170 - Motion Passed: A motion to approve the minutes from the April 18, 2022 regular Meeting passed with a motion by Mr. Thomas Alves and a second by Mr. Wesley Smith.

5 Yeas - 0 Nays

Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes
Yes

Since the two House Bills up for discussion on the agenda affect the Strategic Plan, Mr. Michael Waller suggested discussing those first before discussing the Strategic Plan. There were no objections from the Board to change the order on the agenda.

III. House Bill 678

Mr. Chad Thompson shared with the Board the history of what the previous administration worked on in regards to the Nickel Tax and the unmet needs in the District. He also reported on the status of current capital projects. Mr. Thompson presented information on HB 678 and shared the advantages such as it frees the District up to move quicker and save money for two years.

IV. House Bill 563

Mrs. Kasey Wolfe shared with the Board information from HB 563 and how it affects the non-resident pupil policy in our district. Mrs. Wolfe presented the Board with seven elements of criteria in relation to the acceptance and maintaining nonresident pupil status in the Henderson County School District.

V. Strategic Plan

Dr. Deanna Ashby shared the process on how the new Strategic Plan was formed. Dr. Bob Lawson presented for Board review the Henderson County Schools 5-year Goals and Strategic Initiatives. The Strategic Plan will come before the Board for approval at the June 20, 2022 Board of Education meeting.

VI. Adjourn

Order #171 - Motion Passed: A motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:51 p.m. passed with a motion by Mr. Thomas Alves and a second by Mrs. Tracey Williams.

5 Yeas - 0 Nays

Mr. Thomas Alves Mr. Kirk Haynes Mr. Wesley Smith Mr. Michael Waller Mrs. Tracey Williams	Yes Yes Yes Yes
Chair	
Secretary	