## KBE Awards Committee Meeting Kentucky Department of Education, 300 Sower Boulevard Frankfort, KY 40601 Video Teleconference Meeting Minutes

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held the KBE Awards Committee Meeting on April 14, 2022 via video teleconference. Members of the public were encouraged to view the meeting on the Kentucky Department of Education's (KDE) Media Portal. The committee conducted the following business:

**Call to Order:** Committee Chair Patrice McCrary welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 3:32 p.m. ET. Chair McCrary reminded members that the meeting still must comply with the requirements of the Open Meeting Act. Additionally, Chair McCrary stated that for items that require a vote, a roll call was necessary to record the vote of each board member.

**Roll Call:** Chair McCrary asked for a roll call of members. The following were present: Solyana Mesfin, Claire Batt, Patrice McCrary and Lu Young.

## 2022 Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy

**A.** Review of Criteria for Selecting the Recipient of the Karem Award: Chair McCrary read the and reminded the committee members of the criteria of the award.

David Karem served on the KBE from 2009 through 2016. He served for 33 years in the Kentucky State Senate and as Chair of the Senate Education Committee. During his tenure in the Kentucky General Assembly, Karem championed the passage of the Kentucky Education Reform Act (KERA) and led the efforts for the 4% school tax levy by school districts. This award is given in the spring of each year to state policymakers, education leaders or citizens who have made notable, state-level contributions to the improvement of Kentucky's public education system. The criteria for receiving the award includes, but is not limited to, demonstrating leadership in policy development, passage or implementation resulting in increased educational opportunities for students; improved educational, postsecondary or workforce outcomes for students; or, increased capacity of teachers or school staff to better meet the academic, social or emotional needs of Kentucky students.

- B. Review and Discussion of Applications for the Robinson Award for Diversity and Equity in Public Education: Chair McCrary asked each member to present their top two candidates for consideration and discussion. Candidates were referred to by number and the members narrowed their top picks down to one candidate and after evaluation and discussion determined the candidate that would be brought forth for consideration of approval by the full board at its April 20, 2022 regular meeting.
- C. Approve Recommendation of Individual(s) as the Recipient of the Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy: Chair McCrary stated that based on the candidate's extraordinary efforts and contributions in the area of state policymakers, education leaders or citizens who have made notable, state-level contributions to the improvement of Kentucky's public education system that two candidate number(s) will be awarded. The committee has selected candidate 4 and candidate number 5 to be recommended as the recipients of the 2022 Karem Award for Excellence in Education Policy. The motion to approve was made by Lu Young, seconded by Claire Batt. Candidates 4 and 5 was approved by a unanimous roll call vote.

Before concluding to ask for adjournment, Chair McCrary expressed her deepest thanks and appreciation to our first-ever KBE student member, Solyana Mesfin. "Solyana, you have been a welcomed voice and very valuable to the KBE. We thank you, and we are very proud of you." This sentiment was echoed across the members of the KBE Awards Committee. Chair McCrary also added special thanks to Dr. Meredith Brewer and Stacy Ball for the help to prepare for the KBE Awards Committee meetings, as well as, Andrew Liaupsin and Megan Osborn for the media and technology support which make available the video teleconference meetings.

**Adjournment:** Chair McCrary asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting, the motion was made by Claire Batt and seconded by Solyana Mesfin. The meeting adjourned by a unanimous roll call vote at 3:47 p.m. ET.