

NKCES Monthly Board of Directors Meeting
October 20, 2021
8:30 AM
NKCES, Synergy Room
5516 East Alexandria Pike
Cold Spring, KY 41076

Member Districts

Beechwood Independent • Bellevue Independent • Boone County • Bracken County
Campbell County • Covington Independent • Dayton Independent
Erlanger-Elsmere Independent • Fleming County • Fort Thomas Independent
Grant County • Greenup County • Kenton County • Ludlow Independent
Newport Independent • Northern Kentucky University • Owen County • Pendleton County
Southgate Independent • Walton-Verona Independent • Williamstown Independent

Attendance Taken at 9:15 AM:

Present Board N	∕lembers:
-----------------	-----------

Mr. Jeff Aulick

Dr. Matt Baker

Mr. Mike Borchers

Mr. Jay Brewer

Mr. Joe Buerkley

Dr. Brian Creasman

Mr. Greg Duty

Dr. Ginni Fair

Mr. Alvin Garrison

Ms. Misty Middleton

Mr. Chad Molley

Mr. Matt Morgan

Mr. Brian Robinson

Dr. David Rust

Dr. Robb Smith

Dr. Mike Stacy

Mr. Matthew Turner
Mr. Tony Watts
Ms. Shawna Harney (Proxy for Dr. Henry Webb)
Absent Board Members:
Dr. Henry Webb
Mrs. Traysea Moresea
I. Call to Order
II. Roll Call
III. Request Approval to Adopt the Agenda*
Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. David Rust and a second by Mr. Chad Molley.
IV. Consent Agenda*
Motion Passed: Approve and accept the items on the Consent Agenda passed with a motion by Mr. Joe Buerkley and a second by Mr. Mike Borchers.
IV.A. Approval of Prior Minutes
IV.B. Approval of Treasurer's Report
IV.C. Personnel Report
V. PL Update & September Movie
VI. Instructional Spotlight, Student Mental Health Action Summit Hosted by Lt. Governor Jacqueline Coleman
VII. Communication Items and Discussion
VII.A. NKU Update
VII.B. Advocacy Update
VII.C. KAEC Retreat Follow Up
VIII. New Business
VIII.A. NKCES Grant Consortium requests to add remaining districts not currently participating in the consortium at a reduced rate.*

Mr. Robert Stafford

Rationale:
Districts currently not participating in the Grant's Consortium, and shared their desire to join now are:
Grant County
Owen County
Kenton County
Beechwood Independent
Greenup County
Motion to Amend Passed: To amend the motion from: "NKCES Grant Consortium requests to add remaining districts not currently participating in the consortium at a reduced rate. " to: "The Board is in agreement and requests that NKCES reimburse districts currently participating in the grants consortium \$2000 and charge districts currently not participating \$3500 to join the grants consortium. The board also requests that NKCES add the grants consortium fee of \$3500 to the NKCES base fee going forward to all districts who are members of NKCES will automatically be members of the grants consortium. " passed with a motion by Dr. David Rust and a second by Mr. Mike Borchers.
Motion Passed: The Board is in agreement and requests that NKCES reimburse districts currently participating in the grants consortium \$2000 and charge districts currently not participating \$3500 to join the grants consortium. The board also requests that NKCES add the grants consortium fee of \$3500 to the NKCES base fee going forward to all districts who are members of NKCES will automatically be members of the grants consortium. passed with a motion by Dr. David Rust and a second by Mr. Mike Borchers.
IX. Acknowledgment of Written Report from NKCES
IX.A. Executive Director NKCES
X. Report Outs from State Agencies
X.A. KASA: Membership Specialist Kathy Fields
X.B. KASS: Dr. Jim Flynn
X.C. KDE: Dr. Kelly Foster - absent
X.D. KSBA: Policy Consultant Amanda Hale - absent
XI. Report Outs from Community/Business
XI.A. KY Youth Apprenticeship and College & Career Connector Collaborative: KY Youth Apprenticeship

XI.C. KY State Board Member Q&A statements being personal to him & may not be representative of the state board.

Coordinator Shellie Baker& Dr. Kathy Burkhardt

XI.B. NKYEC: Dr. Randy Poe

XI.D. Grow NKY: Director, Talent & Strategies, Ms. Amanda Johannemann

XII. Motion for Adjournment*

Motion Passed: Request for approval to adjourn the meeting passed with a motion by Mr. Joe Buerkley and a second by Dr. Mike Stacy.