

NKCES Monthly Board of Directors Meeting May 12, 2021 8:30 AM Scott High School Multipurpose Room 5400 Old Taylor Mill Rd. Taylor Mill, KY 41015

Member Districts

Beechwood Independent • Bellevue Independent • Boone County • Bracken County Campbell County • Covington Independent • Dayton Independent Erlanger-Elsmere Independent • Fort Thomas Independent • Grant County • Kenton County • Ludlow Independent Newport Independent • Northern Kentucky University • Pendleton County Southgate Independent • Walton-Verona Independent • Williamstown Independent

Attendance Taken at 10:15 AM:

- Present Board Members:
- Mr. Jeff Aulick
- Dr. Matt Baker
- Mr. Mike Borchers
- Mr. Jay Brewer
- Mr. Joe Buerkley
- Dr. Karen Cheser
- Mr. Greg Duty
- Dr. Ginni Fair
- Mr. Alvin Garrison
- Ms. Misty Middleton
- Mr. Chad Molley
- Dr. David Rust
- Dr. Robb Smith
- Dr. Mike Stacy
- Mr. Matthew Turner
- Mr. Tony Watts
- Dr. Henry Webb

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

III. Acknowledgment of Guests

IV. Request Approval to Adopt the Agenda*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. David Rust and a second by Mr. Chad Molley.

V. Consent Agenda*

Motion Passed: Approve and accept the items on the Consent Agenda passed with a motion by Mr. Joe Buerkley and a second by Dr. Matt Baker.

V.A. Approval of Prior Minutes

- V.B. Approval of Treasurer's Report
- **V.C.** Personnel Report
- VI. PL Update & April Movie
- VII. Instructional Spotlight: Strategic Prevention, Summer Highlights
- **VIII.** Communication Items and Discussion

VIII.A. Legislative Update

VIII.B. NKU Update

Discussion:

Dean Fair to update the board on PRAXIS, state regulations for admission and summer workshop for educators.

VIII.C. Recognition of Ms. Candace Gibson

Rationale:

Present Ms. Candace Gibson with a certificate to recognize her efforts to support public education through her digital graphics during the 2021 legislative session.

VIII.D. Recognize Superintendent Mike Borchers

Rationale:

Present Superintendent Mike Borchers with a certificate to recognize his leadership during the 2021 Legislative session.

IX. New Business

IX.A. Annual Assured Partners Insurance Renewal*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Jeff Aulick and a second by Mr. Greg Duty.

IX.B. NKCES President and In-Coming President Membership Vote*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Jeff Aulick and a second by Dr. David Rust.

IX.C. Fleming County-Membership to NKCES*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. Karen Cheser and a second by Mr. Jay Brewer.

IX.D. Request for an RFP for Legal Services*

Rationale:

This is currently a draft as we are waiting for language from KEDC to incorporate into the proposal. We should receive this on Friday.

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Ms. Misty Middleton and a second by Mr. Alvin Garrison.

X. Acknowledgement of Written Reports from NKCES

X.A. Executive Director NKCES

XI. Report Outs from State Agencies

XI.A. KASA: Wayne Young, J.D.

XI.B. KASS: Dr. Jim Flynn

XI.C. KDE: Dr. Kelly Foster

XI.D. KSBA: Ms. Amanda Hale

XII. Report Outs from Community/Business

XII.A. NKYEC: Dr. Randy Poe

XII.B. KY State Board Member Q&A: Dr. Randy Poe (statements being personal to him and may not be representative of the state board)

XII.C. KY Youth Apprenticeship & College & Career Collaborative: Ms. Shellie Baker & Dr. Kathy Burkhardt

XII.D. GROW NKY: Ms. Amanda Johannemann

XIII. Motion for Adjournment*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. David Rust and a second by Dr. Mike Stacy.

Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services Amy Razor, Executive Director 5516 E Alexandria Pike Cold Spring, KY 41076