KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STAFF NOTE

 Topic: Certification of Non-Public Schools

 Date: June 2, 2021

 Action Requested:
 Review Action/Consent Action/Discussion

 Held In:
 Full Board Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment Operations

SUMMARY OF ISSUE BEFORE THE BOARD:

To take action on the request to certify the non-public schools that voluntarily applied and have been presented for certification by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission (KyNPSC). KRS 156.160(3) provides that any "private, parochial or church school may voluntarily comply with curriculum, certification, and textbook standards established by the Kentucky Board of Education and be certified upon application to the board by such schools."

COMMISSIONER'S RECOMMENDATION:

The Commissioner recommends that the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) accept the recommendations for voluntary certification of the non-public schools listed below that the KyNPSC ensures have successfully completed the accreditation process through a KBE-approved accrediting agency.

APPLICABLE STATUTE OR REGULATION:

KRS 156.160(3)

BACKGROUND:

Existing Policy:

For nearly 30 years, the KBE has certified non-public schools by considering recommendations from the KyNPSC. Specifically, the KyNPSC ensures the schools being presented for certification have successfully completed the accreditation process through one of the following KBE-approved accrediting agencies:

- KyNPSC, Inc.;
- American Association of Christian Schools (AACS);
- Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI);
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) / AdvancEd / Cognia;
- Lutheran Church Missouri Synod;
- Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS);
- North American Division of Seventh Day Adventists;
- International Christian Accrediting Association (ICAA);
- Association Montessori International (AMI);
- American Montessori Society (AMS)

Summary of Issue:

The KyNPSC presents the non-public schools listed below to be considered for voluntary certification by the KBE. The schools listed below have successfully completed a voluntary accreditation process conducted by the KyNPSC or another KBE-approved accrediting agency.

The following schools are being presented for certification:

ONE year (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Holy Family School Ms. Elizabeth Vieth 338 East 16th Street Covington, KY 41014

Prince of Peace School Ms. Kendra McGuire 625 Pike Street Covington, KY 41011

Sayers Classical Academy Ms. Sandra Lawson 7709 Bardstown Road Louisville, KY 40291

Mary, Queen of the Holy Rosary School Ms. Rebecca Brown 605 Hill'N'Dale Road Lexington, KY 40503

St. Mary School Ms. Miranda Chaplin Paris, KY 40361

TWO years (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2023) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Holy Family Collegiate High School Ms. Ann Kempf 932 Winchester Avenue Ashland, KY 41101

FIVE years (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2026) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Blessed Sacrament School Mr. Dan Steffen 2407 Dixie Highway Ft. Mitchell, KY 41017

Holy Trinity Elem. & Junior High School Ms. Katie Jacobs 235 Division Street Bellevue, KY 41073

Oneida Baptist Institute Ms. Angie Gritton P.O. Box 67 Oneida, KY 40972

St. John School Mr. Dan Mardell 106 Military Street Georgetown, KY 40324

St. Joseph School Ms. Sue Greis 4011 Alexandria Pike Cold Spring, KY 41076

St. Philip School Ms. Jennifer Twehues 1400 Mary Ingles Highway Melbourne, KY 41059

Holy Name School Ms. Judy Jenkins 628 Second Street Henderson, KY 42420

Mary, Queen of Heaven School Ms. Meg Piatt 1130 Donaldson Highway Erlanger, KY 41018

St. Henry Elementary School Mr. Dennis Wolf 3825 Dixie Highway Elsmere, KY 41018

St. Joseph Academy

Sr. Patricia Jean Cushing 48 Needmore Street Walton, KY 41094

St. Mark School Ms. Cathy Cornett 115 Parrish Avenue Richmond, KY 40475

Valor Traditional Academy Mr. J.P. Fugate 11501 Schlatter Road Louisville, KY 40291

ONE year (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2022) Accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International:

Harvest Christian Academy Ms. Stephanie Howerton 73 Old Schoolhouse Rd., Box 398 South Portsmouth, KY 41174

Northside Baptist Christian School Ms. Jenny Page 711 North 12th Street Mayfield, KY 42066

FIVE years (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2026) Accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International:

Glasgow Christian Academy Ms. Tracy Shaw P.O. Box 276 Glasgow, KY 42142

Providence Christian Academy Mr. Ron Gleaves 172 Southgate Drive Georgetown, KY 40324

Heritage Christian Academy Ms. Linda Garris 8349 Eagle Way Bypass Hopkinsville, KY 42240

FIVE years (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2026) Accredited by Cognia/AdvancEd/Southern Association of Colleges and Schools:

Barkley Elementary School Ms. Jenaya Parris 4720 Polk Road Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Ft. Campbell High School Dr. Thomas Whittle 912 Carentan Road Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Mahaffey Middle School Ms. Linda Haberman 71 South Carolina Avenue Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Christ the King School Ms. Paula Smith 412 Cochran Road Lexington, KY 40502

Barsanti Elementary School Mr. Hugh McKinnon 7409 McAuliffe Loop Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Lucas Elementary School Mr. Steven Gardner 2115 Airborne Street Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Marshall Elementary School Dr. Tabatha Ware 70 Texas Avenue Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

FIVE years (July 1, 2021 – June 30, 2026) Accredited by the Independent Schools Association of the Central States:

Redwood Cooperative School Ms. Sarah Cummins 166 Crestwood Drive Lexington, KY 40503

GROUPS CONSULTED AND BRIEF SUMMARY OF RESPONSES:

The KyNPSC ensures the schools presented herein have met the accrediting standards of the KyNPSC or another KBE-approved accrediting agency and, accordingly, recommends the KBE grant these schools certification pursuant to KRS 156.160(3).

CONTACT PERSON(S):

Kelly Foster, Associate Commissioner Office of Continuous Improvement and Support Email: kelly.foster@education.ky.gov (502) 564-5130

٤.

Commissioner of Education

Category: Catego