

THE KENTON COUNTY BOARD OF **EDUCATION 1055 EATON DRIVE, FORT WRIGHT, KENTUCKY** 41017 TELEPHONE: (859) 344-8888 / FAX: (859) 344-1531 WEBSITE: www.kenton.kvschools.us Dr. Henry Webb, Superintendent of Schools

KCSD ISSUE PAPER

DATE: August 6, 2018

AGENDA ITEM (ACTION ITEM):

Consider/Approve School Boundary Changes being tabled indefinitely and approve a Demographic study to be completed by December 2020.

APPLICABLE BOARD POLICY: 09.11

HISTORY/BACKGROUND:

The Kenton County Board of Education reviewed a first reading for proposed school boundary changes at the June 4th meeting. The changes affected Ft. Wright Elementary, Ryland Elementary, White's Tower Elementary, and Simon Kenton High School. The Board of Education and District administration listened to input from various members from the community during the first reading and also secured input from an electronic survey established to garner more feedback.

The District level cabinet members met and reviewed all information provided and suggest a different approach over the original first reading recommendation. District administration is interested in pursuing the services of an independent demographer to review all district data and consider local economic conditions, fertility rates, housing construction, population migration trends, road construction, as well as trends for students living in non-traditional family units. This research and final report should be completed in time to prepare the next District facility plan that is due June 2021.

FISCAL/BUDGETARY IMPACT:

The cost to conduct a demographic study will be presented to the Board for approval at a future meeting.

RECOMMENDATION:

It is recommended that the Board table the school boundary changes proposed on June 4th indefinitely and authorize District administration to secure the services of an independent demographer and prepare a report for review and consideration by the District Facility Planning Committee by December 2020.

Contact Person: Rob Haney and Dr. Webb

Principal

Superintendent

Kenton County Board of Education

Board Members: Carl Wicklund, Chairperson Karen L. Collins, Vice Chairperson Joshua Crabtree, Esg. Carla Egan "The Kenton County Board of Education provides Equal Education & Employment Opportunities."

Jesica Jehn