

THE KENTON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION IN DRIVE FORT WRIGHT KENTLICKY 41017

1055 EATON DRIVE, FORT WRIGHT, KENTUCKY 41017 TELEPHONE: (859) 344-8888 / FAX: (859) 344-1531 & WEBSITE: www.kenton.kyschools.us Dr. Henry Webb, Superintendent of Schools

KCSD ISSUE PAPER

<u>DATE</u>: June 20, 2018

AGENDA ITEM (ACTION ITEM):

Consider/Approve External Support/Booster Organizations Approval for the 2018 – 19 School Year for the following groups: **Dixie Athletic Boosters, Simon Kenton Volleyball Boosters, Kenton Elem PTA, River Ridge PTO, Ft. Wright PTA, Ryland PTO, Turkey Foot Indians Club, Woodland PTSA, Dixie Band Boosters, RC Hinsdale PTA, Taylor Mill PTA, Simon Kenton Dugout Club**

APPLICABLE BOARD POLICY:

Policy 10.3

HISTORY/BACKGROUND:

External support/booster organizations are adult/parent organizations established to promote school programs or complement student groups or activities, (i.e. PTA, PTO, booster organizations, etc...) An external support/booster organization's purpose may be to support a student group or program at a particular school or various student groups or programs at various schools, Even though an external support/booster organization works very closely with the district, it is a separate legal entity and is responsible for adherence to IRS guidelines and Title IX regulations. External support/booster organizations must receive local board approval to establish, lend support, seek assistance, or fundraise in the name of the district, school, students, or a district or school program.

FISCAL/BUDGETARY IMPACT:

none

RECOMMENDATION:

It is recommended that the Board approve the External Support/Booster Organization application

CONTACT PERSON:

Tom Arnzen Principal

Superintendent

Use this form to submit your request to the Superintendent for items to be added to the Board Meeting Agenda. Principal –complete, print, sign and send to your Director. Director –if approved, sign and put in the Superintendent's mailbox.

Kenton County Board of Education

Board Members: Carl Wicklund, Chairperson Karen L. Collins, Vice Chairperson Joshua Crabtree, Esq. Carla Egan Jesica Jehn "The Kenton County Board of Education provides Equal Education & Employment Opportunities."