

THE KENTON COUNTY BOARD OF **EDUCATION**

1055 EATON DRIVE, FORT WRIGHT, KENTUCKY

TELEPHONE: (859) 344-8888 / FAX: (859) 344-1531 WEBSITE: www.kenton.kyschools.us

Dr. Henry Webb, Superintendent of Schools

KCSD ISSUE PAPER

DATE:

April 23, 2018

AGENDA ITEM (ACTION ITEM):

Consider/Approve Piner's Section 7 Request for an additional .5 Assistant Principal Allocation and a .5 Secretary Allocation for the 2018-19 school year

APPLICABLE BOARD POLICY:

General Powers and Duties

HISTORY/BACKGROUND:

For the past four years Piner has, with Board approval, used .5 of the 1.0 Guidance Counselor allocation to fund the position of a full time Associate Principal. With recent changes in the allocation formula, Piner now has a .5 Assistant Principal allocation and a .5 Guidance Counselor allocation. In order to maintain the positive progress and improved level of student achievement at Piner, and to meet the 5 Star School criteria set by KDE, a high level of support for teachers and students by a strong, cohesive, full-time administrative team is vital. We request an additional .5 Assistant Principal allocation. Additionally, Piner has traditionally been allocated 1.5 Secretary positions. This year we were reduced to a single 1.0 Secretary/Financial Secretary position. In order to meet the needs of our students, teachers, parents and school community, and to provide coverage for one another, we request an additional .5 Secretary allocation...

FISCAL/BUDGETARY IMPACT:

\$38,000.00 for .5 Assistant Principal salary and \$16,500 for .5 Secretary salary from District funds)

RECOMMENDATION:

Request approval for the .5 Assistant Principal and .5 Secretary allocation for Piner Elementary for the 2018-19 school year.

CONTACT PERSON:

Christi A. Jefferds

Superintendent

Use this form to submit your request to the Superintendent for items to be added to the Board Meeting Agenda. Principal -complete, print, sign and send to your Director. Director -if approved, sign and put in the Superintendent's mailbox.

Kenton County Board of Education

Board Members: Carl Wicklund, Chairperson Karen L. Collins, Vice Chairperson Joshua Crabtree, Esq. Carla Egan Jesica Jehn "The Kenton County Board of Education provides Equal Education & Employment Opportunities."