BULLITT COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS 1040 HIGHWAY 44 EAST SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY 40165

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BULLITT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

December 17, 2020 4:00 PM

(DRAFT) MINUTES OF RECORD

The Bullitt County Board of Education met virtually via telecommunication at 4:00 PM on December 17, 2020, with the following members present:

Attendance Taken at 4:00 PM

(1) Ms. Linda Belcher

- (2) Mrs. Diane Thompson
- (3) Mrs. Debby Atherton

(4) VACANT

(5) Mr. Darrell Coleman

CALL TO ORDER

The December 17, 2020 special meeting of the Bullitt County Board of Education was called to order at 4:00 p.m. by Board Chairperson Debby Atherton.

On March 6, 2020, the Governor issued Executive Order 2020-215, declaring a state of emergency throughout Kentucky pursuant to his power under the Kentucky Constitution and KRS Chapter 39A regarding the threats to public health presented by the Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

In an Opinion issued on March 18, 2020, issued as OAG 20-05, the Kentucky Attorney General opined that at this time during the present state of emergency it is not "feasible" under KRS 61.840 to precisely identify and provide a primary physical location for a video teleconference under the Open Meetings Act at which the public may attend and view a meeting held via video teleconference, and that various other technological means by which the public may view a meeting should be provided instead until the conclusion of the state of emergency.

As a result, the Board adopted a Resolution on March 23, 2020, (see Board Order Number 2020-060) providing for all future Board meetings to proceed by video teleconference until such time as social distancing restrictions for public meetings are lifted.

ADOPT THE AGENDA

2020-210- Motion made by Darrelll Coleman, seconded by Linda Belcher, to adopt the agenda as presented. Board members Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, and Linda Belcher voted YES.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

2020-211- Motion made by Diane Thompson, seconded by Linda Belcher, to recess regular session and ente executive session as authorized by KRS 61.810(1)(f) for discussions which might lead to the selection of a board member. Board members Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, and Linda Belcher voted YES.

RECONVENE REGULAR SESSION

2020-212- Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Diane Thompson, to exit executive session and resume regular session. Board members Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, and Linda Belcher voted YES.

SELECTION OF NEW BOARD MEMBER

2020-213- Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Linda Belcher, to appoint Mrs. Lisa Hodges to represent District 4 on the Bullitt County Board of Education. Board members Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, and Linda Belcher voted YES.

ADJOURNMENT		
2020-214	Motion made to Diane Thompson, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to adjourn at 4:33 PM. Board members Debby Atherton, Darrell Coleman, Diane Thompson, and Linda Belcher voted YES.	
	CHAIRPERSON	SECRETARY