

THE KENTON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION 1055 EATON DRIVE, FORT WRIGHT, KENTUCKY

41017 TELEPHONE: (859) 344-8888 / FAX: (859) 344-1531 WEBSITE: www.kenton.kyschools.us Dr. Henry Webb, Superintendent of Schools

KCSD ISSUE PAPER

<u>DATE</u>: October 22, 2020

AGENDA ITEM (ACTION ITEM):

Consider/Approve Agreement for Mutual Aid for Unusual Incidents for Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services (NKCES) member school districts for the 2020-2021 school year with annual automatic renewal and an Opt-Out Option

APPLICABLE BOARD POLICY:

01.1 - Legal Status of the Board

HISTORY/BACKGROUND:

In the event of a school tragedy, or weather event that places exceptional demands upon a district's personnel resources, member districts can seek assistance from other districts for personnel/asset mobilization for immediate needs. The agreement is not intended for long range staffing solutions. A list of all member districts who plan to participate is included in the agreement.

FISCAL/BUDGETARY IMPACT: None

RECOMMENDATION:

Approval of Agreement for Mutual Aid for Unusual Incidents for Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services (NKCES) member school districts for the 2020-2021 school year with annual automatic renewal and an Opt-Out Option

<u>CONTACT PERSON</u>: Dr. Henry Webb

Superintendent

Principal/Administrator

District Administrator

Use this form to submit your request to the Superintendent for items to be added to the Board Meeting Agenda. Principal –complete, print, sign and send to your Director. Director –if approved, sign and put in the Superintendent's mailbox.

Kenton County Board of Education

Board Members: Carl Wicklund, Chairperson Karen L. Collins, Vice Chairperson Carla Egan Shannon Herold Jesica Jehn "The Kenton County Board of Education provides *Equal Education & Employment Opportunities.*"

Northern Kentucky Public School Districts

Mutual Aid within the following public-school districts: Beechwood Independent, Bellevue Independent, Boone County, Bracken County, Campbell County, Covington Independent, Dayton Independent, Erlanger-Elsmere Independent, Fort Thomas Independent, Kenton County, Ludlow Independent, Newport Independent, Pendleton County, Southgate Independent, Walton-Verona Independent, Williamstown Independent

Subject: Public School District Mutual Aid Agreement Annual Automatic Renewal with Opt-Out Option.

Amends or Supersedes: Mutual Aid Agreement for 2019/2020 School Year.

MUTUAL AID AGREEMENT FOR UNUSUAL INCIDENTS FOR MEMBER PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITHIN THE NORTHERN KENTUCKY COOPERATIVE FOR EDUCATIONAL SERVICES

I. Purpose

A. Occasionally, and especially as a result of a specific school tragedy, weather event, or mass casualty incident, schools have exceptional demands placed upon their personnel resources. Although there is always a spirit of cooperation between the member schools of the Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services (NKCES), assistance could be sporadic depending upon available resources.

 There is a strong need for an agreement of mutual aid which will commit resources of personnel and/or buses, according to each school's ability to assist.
While each district's circumstances may allow more/less support, this agreement should reflect a minimum good faith effort, which can be committed at any time in case of a real emergency.

B. This agreement is intended to assist any of the participating schools by providing a systematic approach to personnel/asset mobilization (including, but not limited to School Counselors, School Psychologists, School Social Workers, School Nurses, Bus Drivers, School Buses and/or School Administrators who serve their districts as emergency management supervisors).

C. It should be noted that this agreement is not intended to provide long range staffing solutions; rather, it can provide immediate resources to meet immediate needs.

II. Authority

A. If an emergency occurs within a district, the Superintendent of that district (or designee), in consultation with the Incident Commander of that emergency (if applicable), will begin contacting the NKCES Superintendents as needed to request resources. Possible resource requests will be limited to 'Crisis Counseling' personnel (including, but not limited to personnel listed under section I, subsection B of this agreement), schools' buses, school bus drivers, and school administrators who serve their districts as emergency management supervisors.

B. Administrators from supporting schools may be assigned to support the requesting school in Command Post functions, especially if requesting district's Leadership is unable to perform these duties due to lockdown, injury, death, and/or reasons not specifically designated here.

III. Procedure

A. When a Superintendent/Designee of any participating school learns of an unusual incident

which has occurred, and which has the potential to not only be dangerous, but overwhelm the resources of the requesting district, he/she, in consultation with the Incident Commander of that emergency (if applicable), may begin contacting Superintendents to request assistance.

B. The requesting Superintendent should provide the following in their request (Details provided will be as thorough as possible without impeding any ongoing investigations or confidentiality requirements:)

1. Details of the emergency/situation.

2. Number of buses, staff being requested.

3. Location to stage/report, point of contact for their operational duties and phone number for that point of contact.

IV. Continuing Requirement

A. If a Superintendent leaves one of the participating districts during the pendency of this mutual aid agreement, then the interim or a designee shall be assigned to carry out the intent of this agreement.

MUTUAL AID AGREEMENT FOR UNUSUAL INCIDENTS FOR MEMBER PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICTS WITHIN THE NORTHERN KENTUCKY COOPERATIVE FOR EDUCATIONAL SERVICES

School Authorizing Signature	School Authorizing Signature
Beechwood Ind.	Bellevue Ind.
Boone County	Bracken County
Campbell County	Covington Ind.
Dayton Ind	Erlanger/Elsmere Ind.
Fort Thomas Ind	Kenton County
Ludlow Ind.	Newport Ind
Pendleton County	Southgate Ind.
Walton-Verona Ind	Williamstown Ind.