

Lt. Gov. Jacqueline Coleman Secretary Education and Workforce Development Cabinet

## Jason E. Glass, Ed.D. Commissioner and Chief Learner

## KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

300 Sower Boulevard • Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Phone: (502) 564-3141 • www.education.ky.gov

August 25, 2020

Superintendent Victor Zimmerman Livingston County School District PO Box 219 Smithland, Kentucky 42081

Dear Superintendent Zimmerman:

## **RE: Preschool District Determinations**

The purpose of this letter is to provide Livingston County School District with the 2020 state funded preschool program "Annual Determination." This Determination will serve as a public acknowledgement that the preschool program has completed the annual preschool proposal, as is required by KRS 157.3175. Pursuant to 704 KAR 3:410, the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) is required to evaluate state-funded preschool programs on an annual basis.

There are four levels of determinations for school districts:

- Meets Requirements
- Needs Assistance
- Needs Intervention
- Needs Substantial Intervention.

The attached *Annual Preschool Determination Process* document describes the various levels of *Determinations* and what actions, if any, are required based on this *Determination*. The KDE's Office of Special Education and Early Learning (OSEEL) will provide districts with the degree of support needed depending on the individual level of *Annual Determination*.



The OSEEL's Division of IDEA Implementation and Preschool (DIIP) used a variety of data sources to create outcome measures for *Annual Determinations*. Data from the Grant Management Application and Planning system (GMAP), performance indicators and measures, district educational outcomes for students and regulation compliance were used to create the 2020 *Annual Determinations* for Kentucky school districts.

Based on the performance review of Livingston County School District Preschool Program, the district's overall 2020 Annual Preschool Program Determination is Meets Determination.

If you have questions regarding your 2020 Annual Determination, please contact Andrea Bartholomew via email at andrea.bartholomew@education.ky.gov or by phone at (502) 564-4970 ext. 4077.

Sincerely,

Veronica Sullivan, Director Division of IDEA Implementation and Preschool

cc: Gretta Hylton, Associate Commissioner, OSEEL
Andrea Bartholomew, Branch Manager, DIIP
Becky Dunning, Preschool Coordinator
Nancy Lovett, Calloway Regional Training Center Director