

NKCES Monthly Board of Directors Meeting May 13, 2020 9:00 AM Virtual Meeting via Zoom for Board and YouTube Live for guests

### Member Districts

Beechwood Independent • Bellevue Independent • Boone County • Bracken County Campbell County • Covington Independent • Dayton Independent Erlanger-Elsmere Independent • Fort Thomas Independent • Kenton County • Ludlow Independent Newport Independent • Northern Kentucky University • Pendleton County • Silver Grove Independent Southgate Independent • Walton-Verona Independent • Williamstown Independent

#### Attendance Taken at 9:45 AM:

## Present Board Members:

- Mr. Jim Allen
- Mr. Jeff Aulick
- Dr. Matt Baker
- Mr. Mike Borchers
- Mr. Jay Brewer
- Mr. Joe Buerkley
- Dr. Kathy Burkhardt
- Mr. Bill Bradford (Proxy for Dr. Karen Cheser)
- Mr. Greg Duty
- Mr. Alvin Garrison
- Mr. Kelly Middleton
- Ms. Misty Middleton
- Mr. Chad Molley
- Dr. Randy Poe

Dr. David Rust

Dr. Robb Smith

Mr. Tony Watts

Dr. Henry Webb

Absent Board Members:

Dr. Karen Cheser

Dr. Mike Stacy

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

# III. Request Approval to Adopt the Agenda\*

Discussion:

Dr. Rust requested a motion to move Dr. Kelly Foster, representative for KDE, to the beginning of the meeting to share her report out. This was due to a scheduling conflict in Dr. Fosters calendar. A motion was made by Superintendent Alvin Garrison and second by Superintendent Mike Borchers as part of the request for approval of adopt the agenda.

**Motion Passed:** Dr. Rust requested a motion to move Dr. Kelly Foster, representative for KDE, to the beginning of the meeting to share her report out. This was due to a scheduling conflict in Dr. Fosters calendar. A motion was made by Superintendent Alvin Garrison and second by Superintendent Mike Borchers as part of the request for approval of adopt the agenda. passed with a motion by Mr. Alvin Garrison and a second by Mr. Mike Borchers.

**IV. Consent Agenda** 

**IV.A. Approval of Prior Minutes** 

**IV.B. Approval of Treasurer's Report** 

**IV.C.** Personnel Report

V. Acknowledgment of Guests

VI. PL Update & April Movie

VII. Instructional Spotlight: Online Programs and NTI Resources: Dr. Laura Clarke & Director of Special Edu., Ms. Becky Nixon

VIII. Communication Items and Discussion

## VIII.A. Regional Schools Program: Alternative School of Distinction Award Recipient

Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services Amy Razor, Executive Director 5516 E Alexandria Pike Cold Spring, KY 41076

## Rationale:

RSP is the 2019 Alternative School of Distinction Award. As part of the award, the school is being gifted \$1500.00

## VIII.B. Northern Kentucky Cooperative for Educational Services Task Force

**IX. New Business** 

### **IX.A. NKCES Policy Changes\***

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. Matt aker and a second by Mr. Mike Borchers.

Dr. Henry Webb Yes

#### IX.B. Proposed IDEA Budget 2020/2021\*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Greg Duty and a second by Dr. Robb Smith.

## IX.C. Crawford Insurance Annual Policy Renewal\*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Dr. Henry Webb and a second by Mr. Jay Brewer.

X. Old Business

### X.A. NKCES 2020-2021 Salary Schedule\*

Rationale:

Request for approval

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Greg Duty and a second by Dr. Kathy Burkhardt.

## X.B. Budgets: EL,RSP, Operations & Grants\*

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Mike Borchers and a second by Mr. Jay Brewer.

### **XI. Acknowledgement of Written Reports from NKCES**

**XI.A. Executive Director NKCES** 

### **XII. Report Outs from State Agencies**

## XII.A. KASA: Wayne Young, J.D.

### XII.B. KASS: Dr. Jim Flynn

XII.C. KDE: Dr. Kelly Foster

### XIII. Announcements

Rationale:

Next NKCES Board of Directors Meeting will take place, June 10, 2020 at 9:00 AM

- Dr. Rust introduced the 3 new superintendents taking the place of our 3 retiring superintendents.
- The 3 Superintendents are as follows:
- Mr. Tony Watts (Newport Independent)
- Mr. Chad Molley (Erlanger-Elsmere Independent)
- Mr. Matt Turner (Boone County)

## XIV. Motion for Adjournment\*

**Motion Passed:** passed with a motion by Mr. Alvin Garrison and a second by Dr. Kathy Burkhardt.