BULLITT COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS 1040 HIGHWAY 44 EAST SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY 40165

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BULLITT COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

January 14, 2019 5:00 PM

MINUTES OF RECORD

The Bullitt County Board of Education met at the Frank R. Hatfield Administrative Center, 1040 Highway 44 East, Shepherdsville, Kentucky, 40165, at 5:00 PM on January 14, 2019 with the following members present:

Attendance Taken at 5:00 PM:

- (1) Mrs. Lorraine McLaughlin
- (2) Mrs. Diane Thompson
- (3) Mrs. Debby Atherton

- (4) Mr. Steve Hornback
- (5) Mr. Darrell Coleman

CALL TO ORDER

2019-01- The January 14, 2019, special meeting of the Bullitt County Board of Education was called to order at 5:00 p.m. by Board Chairperson Debby Atherton.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS

2019-02- Bullitt County Chief District Court Judge Jennifer Porter administered the Kentucky Constitutional Oath and School Board Member Oath to Mrs. Debby Atherton and Mr. Steve Hornback.

ADOPT THE AGENDA

- 2019-03- Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Lorraine McLaughlin, to adopt the agenda with the following change:
 - 1. Add to Consent Items Travel #9242 as it is a time-sensitive item. It will be ratified at the monthly business meeting on January 28, 2019.

All members voted YES.

REORGANIZATION OF THE BOARD

Election of Officers for the Board

- 2019-04- Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Diane Thompson, to elect Debby Atherton as Chairperson. All members voted YES.
- 2019-05- Motion by Diane Thompson, seconded by Debby Atherton, to elect Darrell Coleman for Vice-Chairperson. All members voted YES.
- 2019-06- Motion made by Debby Atherton, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to appoint Jesse Bacon as Secretary, All members voted YES.

Election of Officers for the Bullitt County

School District Finance Corporation

2019-07- Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Diane Thompson, to elect Debby Atherton for President of the Bullitt County School District Finance Corporation. All members voted YES.

- 2019-08- Motion by Diane Thompson, seconded by Debby Atherton, to elect Darrell Coleman for Vice-President for the Bullitt County School District Finance Corporation. All members voted YES.
- 2019-09- Motion made by Debby Atherton, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to approve Jesse Bacon as Secretary. All members voted YES.
- 2019-10- Motion made by Debby Atherton, seconded by Lorraine McLaughlin, to approve Finance Director Lisa Lewis as Treasurer. All members voted YES.
- 2019-11- Motion made by Debby Atherton, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to approve the remaining three board members Lorraine McLaughlin, Steve Hornback, and Diane Thompson to serve as 2019 Board of Directors of the Bullitt County School District Finance Corporation. All members voted YES.

Establishment of Board Meeting Date, Time, and Place

A proposed list of 2019 Board meeting dates and times was presented for approval. Times for the Work Sessions were changed to 5 p.m. Monthly business meetings are usually the fourth Monday of the month. Please note: Months May, June, and December, the date was moved up to the third Monday of the month due to holidays, school breaks, and end of the year vacations. All meetings will be held at the Frank R. Hatfield Administrative Office.

February 11 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

February 25 - Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

March 11 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

March 25 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

April 15 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

April 22 – Monthly Business Meeting. 6:00 p.m.

May 13 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

May 20 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m. (Moved from 27th due to holiday)

June 17 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m. (Moved from EOM due to end of FY and vacations.)

July 22 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

August 12 – Academic Progress Review & Work Session, 5:00 p.m.

August 26 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

September 9 – Work Session, 5:00 p.m.

September 23 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

October 14 – Work Session, 5:00 p.m.

October 28 - Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

November 11 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

November 25 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

December 2 – Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m. (Moved per KASA Conference)

December 16- Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m. (Moved up 1 week- Christmas Break)

January 13, 2020 - Work Session / SBDM Reports, 5:00 p.m.

January 27 – Monthly Business Meeting, 6:00 p.m.

2019-12- Motion made by Lorraine McLaughlin, seconded by Diane Thompson, to approve the list of 2019 Board meetings as presented. All members voted YES.

Board Member to Serve as Legislative Network Member

2019-13- Motion made by Diane Thompson, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to appoint Debby Atherton to serve as the Legislative Network Member for 2019. All members voted YES.

PRESENTATIONS

2019-14- School-Based Decision Making Councils from the schools listed below presented their Improvement Plans to the Board:

Pleasant Grove Elementary Hebron Middle

Maryville Elementary
Old Mill Elementary

Mt. Washington Middle Lebanon Junction Elementary

CONSENT ITEMS

2019-15- Motion made by Lorraine McLaughlin, seconded by Darrell Coleman, to approve the Consent Items as amended. All members voted YES.

Human Resources

Application Form CA-29 for Elizabeth McBroom, LMS, NES

Presented was an application for "Request for One-Year Approval for School Media Librarian" - From CA-29 for Elizabeth McBroom, Library Media Specialist, at Nichols Elementary School.

* All travel by commercial carrier is due to schedule/cost.

School	Group	Date	Destination	Location	\$	Via	TRIP#
BEHS	CTE Students	1/24/19	YUM Brands	Louisville, KY	-0-	Miller	9242

GENERAL DISCUSSION

2019-16- Superintendent Jesse Bacon spoke about the following topics:

School Culture Triage Survey

KSBA Winter Conference in February

Dr. Wayne Lewis' Visit this Thursday

Develop/Grow College Career Readiness; Upgrade the BCATC Experience

Strategic Planning Process SRO in High Schools

ADJOURNMENT

2019-17-	Motion made by Darrell Coleman, seconded by Lorraine McLaughlin, to adjourn a	ıt 6:35
	p.m. All members voted YES.	

CHAIRPERSON	SECRETARY	