KENTUCKY BOARD OF EDUCATION FALL AWARDS COMMITTEE August 1, 2018

The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) held its annual Fall Awards Committee meeting on Wednesday, August 1, 2018, at the offices of the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce, 464 Chenault Road, Frankfort, KY 40601. The committee conducted the following business:

A. Call to Order

At 8:40 a.m., Hal Heiner called the meeting to order.

B. Roll Call

Members Present: Hal Heiner, Serving as Chair; Laura Timberlake, member; Kathy Gornik, member; Milton Seymore, KBE Board Chair and Todd Allen, Interim General Counsel. Absent: Gary Houchens, automobile complications

C. Joseph Kelly Award

1. Review of Criteria for Selecting the Joseph Kelly Award Winner

Mr. Heiner read and the committee discussed the description of the Joseph Kelly Award: Joe Kelly served on the Kentucky Board of Education from 1989 until 1998 and provided magnificent leadership as its chair for the first seven years – the critical early years of implementing and nurturing Kentucky's nationally recognized school improvement efforts. We know of his commitment and devotion to public education and we believe his career exemplifies the significant contributions that members of the business community are making in support of Kentucky's students.

This is the eighteenth annual **Joseph W. Kelly Award**. This award will be given to a businessperson who has offered outstanding leadership and service toward promoting school improvement and equity of educational opportunity for all Kentucky children.

2. Review and Discussion of Applications for the Joseph Kelly Award

Mr. Heiner, Ms. Timberlake and Ms. Gornik reviewed and discussed the applications.

3. Approve Recommendation of an Individual(s) for the Joseph Kelly Award

Mr. Heiner, Ms. Timberlake and Ms. Gornick all agreed on Mr. Robbie Rudolph as the award recipient.

With no other discussion, Laura Timberlake moved and Kathy Gornik seconded a motion to approve the Mr. Robbie Rudolph as the recipient of the 2018 Joseph Kelly Award. The

motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

D. David Karem Award

1. Review of Criteria for Selecting the David Karem Award Winner

Mr. Heiner read the description for the David Karem Award.

Mr. David Karem served on the Kentucky Board of Education from 2009 through 2016. He has experienced a very distinguished professional career, having served for thirty-three (33) years in the Kentucky State Senate and Chair of the Senate Education Committee. During his tenure in the Kentucky General Assembly, Mr. Karem championed the passage of the Kentucky Education Reform Act (KERA) and led the efforts for the 4% school tax levy by school districts.

This is the second annual David Karem Award. This award may be given to state policymakers, education leaders, or citizens who have contributed to the improvement of education through venues such as national commissions, task forces, or other significant boards and organizations. Recipients of this award must demonstrate outstanding leadership and impact on educational policy and the education system during the past year or over an extended career of public service. In addition, this individual must demonstrate his or her commitment to working cohesively with different stakeholders.

2. Review and Discussion of Applications for the David Karem Award

Mr. Heiner, Ms. Timberlake and Ms. Gornik reviewed and discussed the applications.

3. Approve Recommendation of an Individual(s) for the David Karem Award

Mr. Heiner, Ms. Timberlake and Ms. Gornik all agreed on Dr. Jason Reeves as the award recipient.

With no other discussion, Kathy Gornik moved and Laura Timberlake seconded a motion to approve the Dr. Jason Reeves as the recipient of the 2018 David Karem Award. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.

E. Adjournment

Laura Timberlake moved and Hal Heiner seconded a motion to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously on a voice vote.