

Bullitt County Public Schools

1040 Highway 44 East Shepherdsville, Kentucky 40165

502-869-8000 Fax 502-543-3608 www.bullittschools.org

Memo

From: John Roberts

Communications Director

m

To: Ms. Becky Sexton

Assistant Superintendent

Re: Items for May 21st, 2018 Board of Education meeting

Date: May 7th, 2018

Becky:

I respectfully request that recognition be given to the following individuals under **Consent Items** – **Presentations** for the Monday, May 21st, 2018 Board of Education meeting.

- ◆ Old Mill Elementary School Fifth Grade Student **Shane Ritter** whose AARP/KRTA Grandparent of the Year Essay won school, county, Fifth District and State.
- ♦ Elementary school students **Kyndra Nalley**, **Reagan Manco**, **Alyssa Schuler** and **Hunter Etherton** of Lebanon Junction; **Seth Bishop** and **Akeala Galloway** of Crossroads; and **Elizabeth Swift** and **Jackson Binkley** of Old Mill for earning separate honors at Kentucky's National History Day Competition.
- ♦ 2018 Governor's Scholars Program participants
 - Samuel Mitchell, Seth Mitchell, Hannah Wells and Savanah Wells and (alternates)
 Savannah Gould and Aiden Terry of Bullitt Central High School
 - Charisma Cornell, Grace Fluhr, Ainsley Gordon, Lindsey Spencer and Jacob Hall and (alternate) Kayla Nutgrass of Bullitt East High School
 - Jasmine Chandler, Emily Johnson and Leslie Phelps and (alternates) Haley Napier and Brooklyn Thompson of North Bullitt High School
- Riverview Opportunity Center freshmen Jamisen McCrary, Preston Trundy, Kyle Callahan and Zachary Fust for earning Second Place at the Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton's second annual Regional Entrepreneurship Challenge. The team advanced to state competition.
- ♦ Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) groups from Maryville and Pleasant Grove Elementary Schools for their award-winning accomplishments at state competition.
- ♦ Duke University Talent Identification Program (TIP) State seventh grade winners from the following middle schools:
 - William Brangers, Dominik Fackler, Raegan Jackson and Alexander Schmidt of Mt. Washington.
 - o Jason Lin, Allyson Morgan and Samuel Walls of Hebron/Discovery School.
 - Brianne Beck of Bernheim
 - o Xavier Hansen, Brooklyn Sauer and Jack Tinelli of Eastside.

ox fulls

- o Grand Recognition was earned by **Dominik Fackler** of Mt. Washington.
- ♦ North Bullitt High School mathematics teacher **Christine Bickett** for her selection as one 24 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards, one of Top Three high school educators in the state and a semifinalist for 2018-2019 Kentucky Teacher of the Year.

Thank you for your attention. I will be happy to answer any questions.