

Executive Summary Fayette County Public Schools Board Meeting Agenda Item

MEETING: Regular

DATE: 6/13/2016

TOPIC: Approval of Membership of the Local Planning Committee for 2017-2021 Plan Cycle

PREPARED BY: Myron Thompson

Recommended Action on: 6/13/2016 Action Item for Vote (REGULAR MEETING)

Superintendent Prior Approval: No

Recommendation/Motion: Approve the membership for the Local Planning Committee for the 2017-2021 plan cycle.

Background/Rationale: The Kentucky Department of Education in its Facilities Planning Manual (701 KAR 1:001, Section 101.2, June 2004) outlined the make-up of a Local Planning Committee (LPC). It shall be made of 20 (twenty) members to include: the Superintendent (or designee), 4 parent members, 4 teacher members, 4 building administrators, the district facilities director (or designee), 1 central office staff member (certified or classified), 3 community leaders, 1 board member and a local building/zoning official. A maximum number of representatives from each school cannot exceed 1 (one). A minimum of 4 representatives must be members of an SBDM. The parent representatives shall be elected by the PTA/PTO in each school. The selection of the teachers and building administration representatives can be made by any process developed by the teaching/administrative staff. The Central Office staff member must be elected by those assigned to Central Office. The Community Leaders and Board member must be selected by the Board.

> AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT Board of Education: Melissa Bacon, Chair • Amanda Ferguson, Vice Chair • Douglas Barnett • Daryl Love Superintendent Emmanuel Caulk 701 East Main Street, Lexington, Kentucky 40502 • Phone: 859.381.4100 • <u>www.fcps.net</u> Mailing Address: 1126 Russell Cave Rd., Lexington, Kentucky 40505

The proposed committee:

Superintendent designee	Myron Thompson	IAKSS
Parent	LaMonte Nowlin	James Lane Allen Elem.
Parent	Tracy Curtis	Millcreek Elementary
Parent	Sherri Gibson Patterson	Edythe J. Hayes Middle
Parent	Sharon Mofield Boswell	Tates Creek Middle
Teacher	Bari Douglas	Arlington Elementary
Teacher	Sarah Cordle	Cassidy Elementary
Teacher	Lynn Schentrup	Bryan Station High School
Teacher	Sarah Hunt	Harrison Elementary
Administrator	Bill Gatliff	Stonewall Elementary
Administrator	Killian Timony	Winburn Middle
Administrator	Adam Kirk	Deep Springs Elementary
Administrator	Brian McIntyre	The Stables Program
District Facilities Director	Lars Finneseth	Springhill Campus
Central Office Staff member		
Community Leader	Randall Vaughn	Gray Architects & Engineers
Community Leader	Dallam B. Harper, Jr.	
Community Leader	_	
Board Representative	Melissa Bacon	Fayette Co. Public Schools
Local Building/Zoning Official	Brandi Peacher	LFUCG Div. of Planning

Policy: 01.11 General Powers and Duties of the Board

Fiscal Impact: None

Attachments(s): None