

Executive Summary Fayette County Public Schools Board Meeting Agenda Item

MEETING: Planning DATE: 6/13/2016

TOPIC: Approval of Fayette County Public Education Foundation Committee Members

PREPARED BY: Hiren Desai

Recommended Action on: 6/13/2016

Action Item for Vote (PLANNING MEETING)

Superintendent Prior Approval: No

Recommendation/Motion: Approve the make-up of the Fayette County Public Education Foundation Committee for the 2016-17 fiscal year.

Background/Rationale: The audit of public accounts report dated September 17, 2014 recommended changes to the processes and procedures regarding expenditures from the many trust funds entrusted to Fayette County Public Schools. Staff recommended a committee be appointed by the Board to oversee the trust funds as well as the distribution of funds. Members from a number of community and internal stakeholder groups were solicited for this purpose. The committee is comprised of one member from the Board (Board Representative), one school principal, one ex-officio central administrator (Superintendent or designee), an Equity Council member, and three at large community members to include a parent member appointed by the 16th District PTA. The Foundation Committee's charge is to work in concert with the Bluegrass Community Foundation to oversee distribution of the trust funds.

Two members have stepped down since the original appointments (the school principal and one community at large member). This request asks for board approval to fill the vacant school principal (with Mr. Michael Price) and a vacant community at large member (with Mrs. Ricki Rosenburg). Both individuals are willing to serve.

AN EQUAL OPPORTUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

As of spring 2016, the composition of the trust funds are as follows:

• Fayette County Public Education Foundation

Corpus: \$915,622.98

Available to spend for grant making: \$34,132.42

• David C. Humphreys Memorial Fund (limited to the "former Irish Town" community)

Corpus: \$176,129.98

Available to spend for grant making: \$13,112.96

The proposed committee for 2016-17:

Board Representative	Amanda Ferguson	1 year	FCPS
Administrator (Principal)	Michael Price	2 year	School Level
Superintendent designee	Sr. Director Administrative Services	2 year	IAKSS
Equity Council	Stephanie Hong	1 year	Equity Council
Community	David Kidd .	1 year	16 th District PTA
Community	Rolanda Woolfork	2 year	Board Appointed
Community	Ricki Rosenberg	2 year	Board Appointed

Policy: 01.11 General Powers and Duties of the Board

Fiscal Impact: None

Attachments(s): None