KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STAFF NOTE

Action/Discussion Item:

Voluntary Certification of Non-Public Schools

Commissioner's Recommendation:

The Commissioner recommends that the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) accept the recommendations for voluntary certification of the schools listed below from the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission (KyNPSC).

Rationale:

To certify the non-public schools that have voluntarily applied for this designation. The schools listed below have successfully completed the voluntary accreditation processes conducted by the KyNPSC or other accrediting associations approved by the KBE.

Action Question:

Should the KBE accept the recommendations of the KyNPSC and other approved accrediting associations to certify for the designated period of time the schools listed below?

Applicable Statute or Regulation:

KRS 156.160(3)

History/Background:

Existing Policy: KRS 156.160(3) provides that any "private, parochial or church school may voluntarily comply with curriculum, certification, and textbook standards established by the Kentucky Board of Education and be certified upon application to the board by such schools." At the September 1992 meeting, the KBE approved a process to certify voluntary non-public schools. The board certifies schools by considering the recommendations of the KyNPSC. The KyNPSC ensures that the schools being presented to the board for certification have successfully completed the accreditation process of one of the ten state, regional or national accrediting agencies approved for this purpose by the board. Those accrediting agencies include:

- The KyNPSC, Inc.
- American Association of Christian Schools (AACS)
- Association of Christian Schools International (ACSI)
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) / AdvancEd
- Lutheran Church Missouri Synod
- Independent Schools Association of the Central States (ISACS)
- North American Division of Seventh Day Adventists
- International Christian Accrediting Association (ICAA)

- Association Montessori International (AMI)
- American Montessori Society (AMS)
- National Council for Private School Accreditation (NCPSA)

Summary: The KyNPSC has worked closely with the KBE and the Kentucky Department of Education to establish the certification process for voluntary non-public schools. The Commission has appointed a coordinator for the project and monitors the process carefully before making the recommendations presented here. The schools listed below have successfully completed the voluntary accreditation processes conducted by the KyNPSC or the accrediting associations approved by the KBE.

The following schools are being recommended:

ONE year (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2017) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Sayers Classical Academy Ms. Sandra Lawson 7709 Bardstown Road Louisville, KY 40291

FOUR years (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2020) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Holy Family Collegiate High School Mr. Matt Anderson 932 Winchester Avenue Ashland, KY 41101

FIVE years (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2021) Accredited by the Kentucky Non-Public Schools Commission:

Blessed Sacrament Elementary School Holy Family Elementary School

Ms. Maureen Hannon Ms. Diane Russell 2407 Dixie Highway 338 East 16th Street Ft. Mitchell, KY 41017 Covington, KY 41014

Holy Name Elementary School
Ms. Mary Caton
Ms. RandiLynn Tucker
628 Second Street
Henderson, KY 42420
Lexington Montessori School
Ms. RandiLynn Tucker
319 South Broadway Park
Lexington, KY 40504

Mary, Queen of Heaven Elementary School Mary, Queen of the Holy Rosary El. School

Ms. Lynn Mowery
Ms. Rebecca Brown
1130 Donaldson Highway
605 Hill N'Dale Road
Erlanger, KY 41018
Lexington, KY 40503

Oneida Baptist Institute Mr. David Robinson 11 Mulberry Street, Box 67

Oneida, KY 40972

St. Francis of Assisi Elementary School

Ms. Kathryn Atkins 147 Bryan Street Pikeville, KY 41501

St. John Elementary School

Mr. Daniel Mardell 106 Military Street Georgetown, KY 40324

St. Mark Elementary School

Ms. Cathy Cornett 115 Parrish Avenue Richmond, KY 40475

St. Philip Elementary School

Ms. Kim Brewer 1400 Mary Ingles Highway Melbourne, KY 41059 St. Augustine Elementary School

Ms. Christy Jones 203 East 4th Street Augusta, KY 41002

St. Henry Elementary School

Ms. Sue Greis

3825 Dixie Highway Erlanger, KY 41018

St. Joseph Elementary School Ms. Melissa Holzmacher 4011 Alexandria Pike Cold Spring, KY 41076

St. Mary Elementary School

Ms. Lucy Marsh 1121 Main Street Paris, KY 40361

Valor Traditional Academy

Mr. J.P. Fugate 11501 Schlatter Road Louisville, KY 40291

FIVE years (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2021) Accredited by the Association of Christian Schools International:

Glasgow Christian Academy Ms. Tracy Shaw 600 Old Cavalry Drive Glasgow, KY 42141

Northside Baptist Christian School

Ms. Emily Burge 711 North 12th Street Matfield, KY 42066 Heritage Christian Academy

Ms. Linda Garris

8349 Eagle Way Bypass Hopkinsville, KY 42240

Providence Christian Academy

Mr. Rick White 172 Southgate Drive Georgetown, KY 40324

FIVE years (July 1, 2016 – June 30, 2021) Accredited by the AdvancEd/Southern Association of Colleges and Schools:

Barkley Elementary School Ms. Rhonda Pawlawski 4720 Polk Road Ft. Campbell, KY 42223 Barsanti Elementary School Ms. Jennifer Halley Bldg. 7409 McAuliffe Loop Ft. Campbell, KY 42223 Christ the King Elementary School

Ms. Paula Smith 412 Cochran Drive Lexington, KY 40502 Ft. Campbell High School Mr. Hugh McKinnon 902 Bastogne Avenue Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Lucas Elementary School Mr. Ted Turnipseed

2115 Airborne Street Ft. Campbell, KY 42223 Mahaffey Middle School Mr. Steven Gardner

585 South Carolina Avenue Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Main Street Christian Education Center

Ms. Laura Kalfas 11093 Alexandria Pike Alexandria, KY 41001 Marshall Elementary School

Ms. Suzanne Jones 75 Texas Avenue

Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

The Montessori High School Ms. Jennifer Pederson 620 South Broadway Lexington, KY 40508 Wassom Middle School Ms. Elaine Gallivan 3066 Forrest Avenue Ft. Campbell, KY 42223

Budget Impact: No state funds are required.

Groups Consulted and Brief Summary of Responses:

The above listed accrediting organizations provided their respective lists of approved nonpublic schools. These schools have met the accrediting standards of one of the approved organizations.

Contact Person:

Kelly Foster Associate Commissioner Next Gen. Schools & Districts (502)564-5130

kelly.foster@education.ky.gov

Neil Watts Non-Public Schools Consultant Div. of Cons. Plans & Audits (502)564-1473

neil.watts@education.ky.gov

Commissioner of Education

Date:

June 2016