

NKCES Monthly Board of Directors Meeting October 14, 2015 9:30 AM NKCES, PD Room, 5516 E. Alexandria Pike, Cold Spring, KY 41076

Member Districts

Beechwood Independent • Bellevue Independent • Boone County • Bracken County Covington Independent • Dayton Independent • Erlanger-Elsmere Independent • Ft. Thomas Independent Gateway Community and Technical College • Kenton County • Ludlow Independent • Newport Independent Northern Kentucky University • Pendleton County • Silver Grove Independent • Southgate Independent Walton-Verona Independent • Williamstown Independent

Attendance Taken at 9:44 AM:

Present Board Members: Mr. Jeff Aulick Mr. Mike Borchers Mr. Jay Brewer Dr. Kathy Burkhardt Dr. Terri Cox-Cruey Mr. Ken Ellis Mr. Alvin Garrison Dr. Ed Hughes Mr. Kelly Middleton Mr. Jim Palm Dr. Randy Poe Dr. Cindy Reed Mrs. Sally Skinner Mr. Robb Smith Dr. Mike Stacy Dr. Robert Storer Dr. Anthony Strong

Absent Board Members: Mr. Gene Kirchner

I. Call to Order

II. Roll Call

III. Consent Agenda

Motion Passed: Approve and accept the items on the Consent Agenda passed with a motion by Dr. Anthony Strong and a second by Dr. Kathy Burkhardt.

	T 7
Mr. Jeff Aulick	Yes
Mr. Mike Borchers	Yes
Mr. Jay Brewer	Yes
Dr. Kathy Burkhardt	Yes
Dr. Terri Cox-Cruey	Yes
Mr. Ken Ellis	Yes
Mr. Alvin Garrison	Yes
Dr. Ed Hughes	Yes
Mr. Gene Kirchner	Yes
Mr. Kelly Middleton	Yes
Mr. Jim Palm	Yes
Dr. Randy Poe	Yes
Dr. Cindy Reed	Yes
Mrs. Sally Skinner	Yes
Mr. Robb Smith	Yes
Dr. Mike Stacy	Yes
Dr. Robert Storer	Yes
Dr. Anthony Strong	Yes

III.A. Approval of Prior Minutes III.B. Approval of Treasurer's Report III.C. Personnel Report

IV. Reports from External Agencies
IV.A. Center of Educator Excellence
IV.B. EPSB
IV.C. KSBA
IV.D. NKY Secondary Principals Association
IV.E. Pritchard Committee
IV.F. REL Appalacha
IV.G. School Facility Construction Commission (SFCCC)
IV.H. Thomas More College
IV.I. Workforce (AMWDC)

V. Instructional Spotlight

Rationale: College and Career Readiness: Instructional Spotlight featuring Walton Verona

VI. Communication Items and Discussion VI.A. Gateway Community & Technical College VI.B. NKU VI.C. NKCES Dues/Slot Payments VI.D. NKCES Kick Off Event

VII. Old Business VII.A. Facility Update

VIII. New Business

IX. NKCES Written Reports (Comments or Questions from the Board) **IX.A. Executive Director NKCES**

Rationale: NKCES Presentation IX.B. Special Education Director IX.C. English Language Dashboard IX.D. Grants

X. NKY Regional Committee Reports X.A. Executive Committee

Comments: Members: Terri Cox-Cruey-President, Mike Borchers -immediate past-President, Jay Brewer - Vice President **X.B. Professional Development Committee X.C. Grants Committee**

Comments: Members: Mike Borchers and Ken Ellis X.D. English Learner Committee

Comments: Members: Robb Smith and Jeff Aulick X.E. IDEA Committee X.F. Regional School Programs Committee

Comments: Members: Anthony Strong, Jim Palm and Cindy Reed X.G. Facility Committee

Comments: Members: Mike Borchers, Jay Brewer, Terri Cox-Cruey and Cindy Reed X.H. NKY Education Council Committee

Rationale: Executive Board, Action Teams 1-6

Comments: Executive Board - Kathy Burkhardt, Anthony Strong, Randy Poe, Amy Razor Action Team 1-Alvin Garrison Action Team 2-Gene Kirchner Action Team 3-Kathy Burkhardt Action Team 4-Sally Skinner Action Team 5-Mike Stacey Action Team 6-Anthony Strong, Randy Poe, Kathy Burkhardt, Terry Cox-Cruey, Gene Kirchner **X.I. MyNKY Leadership Team Committee**

X.J. Gallup Poll Steering Committee X.K. 3 Gear Platform Steering Committee X.L. Data Team and Governance for 3 Gear Platform Committee

Comments: Members: Terri Cox-Cruey, Randy Poe, Gene Kirchner, Kathy burkhardt, Glenn Miller, Ron Livingood **X.M. NKY Chamber of Commerce Committee**

Comments: Board of Directors: Terri Cox-Cruey Education Policy: Kathy Burkhardt, Randy Poe Consensus Committee: Terri Cox-Cruey Chamber Advocacy Committee: Randy Poe **X.N. Superintendent Advisory Council (KDE)**

Comments: Members: Mike Borchers, Terri Cox-Cruey, Jay Brewer X.O. Local Superintendent Advisory Council (KDE) X.P. School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council (KDE) X.Q. Kentucky Association of School Superintendents Committee

Comments: Members: Randy Poe, Regional and Anthony Strong

X.R. PreKworks Committee

Comments: Members: Kathy Burkhardt, Randy Poe, Anthony Strong

XI. Adjournment

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Mike Borchers and a second by Mr. Jay Brewer.

DICWCI.	
Mr. Jeff Aulick	Yes
Mr. Mike Borchers	Yes
Mr. Jay Brewer	Yes
Dr. Kathy Burkhardt	Yes
Dr. Terri Cox-Cruey	Yes
Mr. Ken Ellis	Yes
Mr. Alvin Garrison	Yes
Dr. Ed Hughes	Yes
Mr. Gene Kirchner	Absent
Mr. Kelly Middleton	Yes
Mr. Jim Palm	Yes
Dr. Randy Poe	Yes
Dr. Cindy Reed	Yes
Mrs. Sally Skinner	Yes
Mr. Robb Smith	Yes

Dr. Mike StacyYesDr. Robert StorerYesDr. Anthony StrongYes

XII. Next Meeting, November 11, 2015 at Gateway Community & Technical College

Motion Passed: passed with a motion by Mr. Mike Borchers and a second by Mr. Jay Brewer.

Yes Mr. Jeff Aulick Mr. Mike Borchers Yes Mr. Jay Brewer Yes Dr. Kathy Burkhardt Yes Dr. Terri Cox-Cruey Yes Mr. Ken Ellis Yes Mr. Alvin Garrison Yes Dr. Ed Hughes Yes Mr. Gene Kirchner Absent Mr. Kelly Middleton Yes Mr. Jim Palm Yes Dr. Randy Poe Yes Dr. Cindy Reed Yes Mrs. Sally Skinner Yes Mr. Robb Smith Yes Dr. Mike Stacy Yes Dr. Robert Storer Yes Dr. Anthony Strong Yes