

JEFFERSON COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION Minutes of Special Meeting of September 1, 2015

SPECIAL meeting of the Jefferson County Board of Education held at the VanHoose Education Center, 3332 Newburg Road, Louisville, Kentucky, on Tuesday, September 1, 2015, at 4 p.m.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT

Chair David A. Jones, Jr. Mrs. Linda Duncan Mrs. Stephanie Horne Dr. Lisa Willner Mr. Chris Brady Mr. Chuck Haddaway Vice-Chair Diane Porter

OTHERS PRESENT

Superintendent Donna Hargens Francis J. Mellen, Jr., Wyatt Tarrant & Combs LLP Kathy Smith, Assistant Secretary to the Board

WORK SESSION: JCPS Public School Choice

This information session provided an overview of the student assignment process and choice in the Jefferson County Public School District in order to build common understanding of student assignment plan and reach consensus on the purpose of magnet schools to move forward on recommendations from Magnet Schools of America.

Chair David A. Jones, Jr. called the meeting to order at approximately 4:06 p.m. Superintendent Donna Hargens provided an introduction and background for the session. The following staff members made a presentation and answered Board members' questions:

- Dr. Dena Dossett, director, Planning and Program Evaluation;
- Dr. Leslie Taylor; specialist, Planning and Program Evaluation.
- Barbara Dempsey, director, Student Assignment;
- Michael Alexander, assistant director, Student Services; and

Each Board member had an opportunity to ask questions, provide feedback, and post ideas and concerns in the Parking Lot for future discussion and consideration.

The meeting adjourned by consensus at approximately 7:11 p.m.

Chair David A. Jones, Jr.

Dr. Donna Hargens, Superintendent/Secretary

THESE ACTIONS, ALONG WITH THE AGENDA ITEMS, MAKE UP THE OFFICIAL MINUTES, WHICH ARE ON FILE IN THE OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY