KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STAFF NOTE

Action/Consent Item:

New District Facility Plans: Adair County, Allen County, Ashland Independent, Ballard County, Berea Independent, Bracken County, Cloverport Independent, Dayton Independent, Edmonson County, Estill County, Frankfort Independent, Garrard County, Harrison County, Hazard Independent, Henry County, Jackson Independent, Madison County, McCracken County, Morgan County, Rowan County, Simpson County, Spencer County, Trigg County, Union County, Wayne County and West Point Independent School Districts

Applicable Statute or Regulation:

KRS 157.420 (4), KRS 157.622, KRS 157.620, 702 KAR 4:180

Action Question:

Should the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) approve the proposed District Facility Plans (DFPs) for the above listed Kentucky school districts?

History/Background:

Existing Policy: In accordance with 702 KAR 4:180, each district must develop a local District Facility Plan (DFP) at the completion of a four-year cycle or at the completion of an eight-year cycle (maximum) if the district applies for and is granted a waiver. This process provides a District Facility Plan that contains an assessment of the school district's attributes and operations including the district profile, demographic information, facility conditions, and finances (cost of delivery of services). Local school districts are required to select a Local Planning Committee (LPC) to develop a DFP outlining capital construction priorities.

Information reviewed in developing the DFP provides the LPC with a comprehensive view of program and facility needs required to provide an equitable educational opportunity. Kentucky Department of Education staff provides the process to be undertaken by the district in an orientation package. Information for KDE review is then developed by the LPC and its consultants.

The LPC, by virtue of its makeup, encourages both community involvement and diversity of ideas. The LPC recommends a DFP to the local board. If the local board does not approve the DFP, it goes back to the LPC for further refinement. However, a DFP submitted for approval by the KBE is the final decision of the local board of education and may or may not reflect the determinations of the LPC.

The submitted DFPs for Adair County, Allen County, Ashland Independent, Ballard County, Berea Independent, Bracken County, Cloverport Independent, Dayton Independent, Edmonson

County, Estill County, Frankfort Independent, Garrard County, Harrison County, Hazard Independent, Henry County, Jackson Independent, Madison County, McCracken County, Morgan County, Rowan County, Simpson County, Spencer County, Trigg County, Union County, Wayne County and West Point Independent School Districts were recommended by the LPCs and approved by the local boards of education. Attached with each district's facility plan and hearing report are enrollment projection and non-resident student data for the district.

Staff Recommendation(s) and Rationale:

Staff recommends that the KBE approve the proposed new District Facility Plans for the above-named districts. KDE staff certifies that the plans are presented in accordance with 702 KAR 4:180 and are in compliance with the appropriate steps as follows: (1) LPC selection process documented; (2) review of proposed district facility plan for educational programs and curriculum, demographics, facility evaluations, adequacy of financial plan, and adequacy of square footage; (3) public meetings and forums notification through news media; (4) local public hearing conducted with appointed hearing officer; and (5) plan submitted for KBE approval.

Groups Consulted and Brief Summary of Responses

Public forums and a local public hearing were held in the school districts. The plans were approved by the required bodies by majority vote.

Impact on Getting to Proficiency

In Standard 4 of the Standards and Indicators for School Improvement, it is noted that the school's physical environment has an impact on student achievement. Research also indicates that better facilities enhance equity (equal opportunities for all students), attitudes and retention of staff, and parental involvement.

Contact Person:

Hiren Desai, Associate Commissioner Office of Administration and Support (502) 564-1976

hiren.desai@education.ky.gov

Kay Kennedy, Director Division of District Support (502) 564-3930 kay.kennedy@education.ky.gov

Commissioner of Education

Date:

June 2015