KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

STAFF NOTE

Action/Consent Item:

Appointment to the State Textbook Commission

Applicable Statute or Regulation:

KRS 156.405 (2)

Action Question:

Should the Kentucky Board of Education approve the recommendation for an appointment to the State Textbook Commission?

History/Background:

Existing Policy. In accordance with KRS 156.405(2), the Kentucky Board of Education, upon the recommendation of the chief state school officer, approves the appointments of members to the State Textbook Commission for terms of four years.

The State Textbook Commission oversees the state adoption process for textbooks and instructional materials. It consists of ten members who represent the various areas of the Commonwealth--two (2) parents, two (2) administrators, five (5) teachers, and one (1) higher education representative. Their responsibilities include approving substitutions, establishing the state multiple list, approving membership for a statewide review team, and developing an evaluation instrument for each adoption group with the assistance of the review team.

Individuals currently serving on the Commission are as follows:

John W. Hardy, teacher, Grant County High School (Grant County)

Barbara M. Rollins, teacher, Audubon Elementary (Daviess County)

Vasco Perry, teacher (Hardin County)

Wendy King, teacher (Rockcastle County)

Dr. Cynthia Houston, higher education, Western Kentucky University (Warren County)

Donna Lovell, administrator, Berea Independent Schools (Madison County)

Mark Thomas, administrator (Spencer County)

Cherissa Eden, parent/lay citizen (Shelby County)

Patti Jo Bowman, lay citizen (Laurel County)

Vacant, teacher representative (recent resignation; currently reviewing applicants)

According to KRS 156.405(2), the State Textbook Commission is required to have ten members. Members who have completed one four-year term are eligible for reappointment for a second four-year term. The individual recommended below is seeking re-appointment for a second term.

If this member is approved, the composition of the State Textbook Commission will represent all areas of the state, will consist of three (3) males and six (6) females, will be composed of one (1) African-American and eight (8) Caucasians, and meet the requirements set forth in statute.

Commission member David McFadden became a principal recently, so he is unable to complete his second term as a teacher representative, creating a vacancy on the Commission. Applicants will be reviewed and at a later time a name will be submitted for consideration, which will result in a full 10-member commission.

Staff Recommendation and Rationale:

Staff recommends re-appointment of Mark E. Thomas to serve as an administrator representative on the State Textbook Commission. Mr. Thomas currently serves as principal of Spencer County Elementary School. His past administrative experience includes Instructional Supervisor, Assistant Superintendent, School Principal and School Assistant Principal. He has twelve years of teaching experience covering Mathematics, Science, and Reading for 6th grade and 8th grade. Mr. Thomas's textbook related experience includes serving as a member of a school-based decision making council and on a district-wide textbook selection committee, as well as supervisory roles for school and district textbook decisions. He served on the Kentucky State Textbook Commission from 2012-15 (1st term).

Mr. Thomas states that in order for students to be successful, instructional resources must be aligned to the standards, which the students are required to master. He further states that textbooks and other instructional resources should be used to provide resources to assist the students in attaining mastery of the curricular standards.

The applicant is fully qualified to be a member of the Commission.

Impact on Getting to Proficiency Efforts:

This process ensures that teachers and students have access to the most current instructional resources in a variety of formats and learning levels.

Contact person:

Amanda Ellis, Associate Commissioner Office of Next Generation Learners (502) 564-9850

Amanda. Ellis@education.ky.gov

Commissioner of Education

Date:

June 2015