APPROVAL OF FAYETTE COUNTY PUBLIC EDUCATION FOUNDATION COMMITTEE MEMBERS

BACKGROUND:

The audit of public accounts report dated September 17, 2014 recommended changes to the processes and procedures regarding expenditures from the many trust funds entrusted to Fayette County Public Schools. Staff is recommending a committee be appointed by the Board to oversee the trust funds as well as the distribution of funds. Members from a number of community and internal stakeholder groups will be solicited for this purpose. The committee will be comprised of one member from the Board (Board Representative), one school principal, one ex-officio central administrator (Superintendent or designee), an Equity Council member, and three at large community members to include a parent member appointed by the 16th District PTA. The Foundation Committee will work in concert with the Bluegrass Community Foundation who will be overseeing the District's trust funds.

RATIONALE:

Approval of the make-up of the committee to enable the Board to solicit members and staff to be appointed so that the work of the committee can begin as soon as possible.

PROPOSAL:

Superintendent designee	Administrative Services		
(non-voting)	Sr. Director	1 year*	IAKSS
Board Representative	Amanda Ferguson	2 year	FCPS
Equity Council	Stephanie Hong	2 year	Equity Council
Community	David Kidd	1 year*	16 th District PTA
Community	Rolanda Woolfork	2 year	Board Appointed
Community	Board appointment		
	by Melissa Bacon	2 year*	Board Appointed
Administrator (Principal)	Andrea Tinsley	1 year*	School Level

*1 year appointments will convert to 2 year appointments to stagger membership of committee.

STAFF CONTACT:	Mary Wright, 381-4165
REFERENCE:	01.11 (General Powers and Duties of the Board)
RECOMMENDATION:	A motion is in order to: "Approve the make-up of the Fayette County Public Education Foundation Committee so that the committee can begin work as soon as possible."