Appointment to the Certified Evaluations Appeals Panel

BACKGROUND:

The Fayette County Public Schools Certified Evaluation Appeals Panel consists of three (3) certified members: one (1) appointed by the Fayette County Public Schools Board of Education, who serves as chairperson; and two (2) members elected by the certified staff from the District. The panel hears the appeals brought forth by certified staff members who contend they were unfairly assessed on the final Summative Evaluation. The jurisdiction of the appeals panel is limited only to the review of the Summative Evaluation.

RECOMMENDATION:

A motion is in order to:

Appoint Jennifer Dyar, Associate Director of Human Resources, as Fayette County Public Schools Board of Education designated chairperson to the Certified Evaluations Appeals Committee, and to appoint,-<u>Faith Thompson</u>Lu Young, Chief Academic Officer, as alternate chairperson to the Fayette County Public Schools Certified Evaluations Appeals Committee.

RATIONALE:

Two certified teachers from each level, Elementary, Middle and High, will be elected to the panel this fall. The Board needs to appoint a chairperson and an alternate chairperson to the panel, as required by the Fayette County Public Schools Certified Evaluation Procedures.

POLICY REFERENCE:

03.18 (Evaluation of Certified Personnel)

704 KAR 3:45 section(s) 7(1), 7(2), 7(3), 9